Vermont DirectoriesEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png U.S. Directories Gotoarrow.png Vermont Gotoarrow.png Directories


City and county directories are similar to present-day telephone books and are useful records for locating people. They were often published annually, listing heads of households, employed household members, and their occupations and addresses. They can be used with census records or as substitutes for them.

For Vermont, directories have been published for various cities and counties since the mid 1800s, though they may not exist for every year. Some directories focus on the businesses or occupations of an area, while others include heads of households and landowners.

Contents

Resources with Vermont Directories

Libraries and Archives

The University of Vermont has a good collection of city and county directories.

The New England Historic Genealogical Society microfilmed their entire collection of Vermont directories. This collection is also available at libraries that provide access to HeritageQuest.

Public libraries often have city directories for their areas. College and university libraries often have larger collections of city directories. For lists of these libraries with contact information, see PublicLibraries.com and SearchBug.com

Directories Online

Ancestry.com ($) has Vermont directories available online in its U.S. City Directories collection.

The Family History Library

The Family History Library has compact discs that incorporate recent telephone directories for most of the United States. These directories are not available at Family History Centers, but may be used at the Family History Library. Current telephone directories can also be found on the Internet, and may assist in finding living relatives.

A series of directories to businesses in Vermont is:

Vermont (State) Directories. Woodridge, Connecticut: Research Publications, 1990–94. (On 20 Family History Library fiche 6044609–15.) These directories for the years 1849 and 1855–1860 include the names of businessmen, officials, clergymen, merchants, and doctors and are listed by town and then alphabetically by name. These are microfiche of originals published by various publishers.

Directories for each county in Vermont were published by Hamilton Child between 1881 and 1888. They include the names of residents and their occupation and include farmers and other rural residents. Directories of heads of households have also been published for some cities in Vermont. These and other directories can be found in the FamilySearch Catalog by using a Place Search under:

VERMONT- DIRECTORIES
VERMONT, [COUNTY]- DIRECTORIES
VERMONT. [COUNTY], [TOWN]- DIRECTORIES

Web Sites



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,852 times.