Vermont Military RecordsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png U.S. Military Gotoarrow.png Vermont Gotoarrow.png Military Records

Civil War Memorial, Bennington, Vermont

Contents


Military records identify millions of young men who served in the military or who were eligible for service. Evidence that an ancestor actually served may be found in family traditions, census records, naturalization records, biographies, cemetery records, and records of veterans’ organizations. Military records can give birth dates, marriage dates, death dates, spouse and children names, localities of residence throughout the life of the family. Many military records are found at the Family History Library, the National Archives, and other federal and state archives.

For each war listed below, additional federal sources are listed in United States Military Records. It contains search strategies and information to guide you to the best records for your objective.

Forts

Fortticonderoga inside.jpg

Colonial Wars

Vermont was originally disputed between the Province of New Hampshire and the Province of New York before declaring its independence from the two in 1777.

"The Society of Colonial Wars in the State of Vermont: First Year Book 1906" (Google Books) lists members and abstracts of their claims for membership (genealogies) in the society. See pages 29-133.

See also: New Hampshire Military Records and New York Military Records.

Revolutionary War (1775-1783)

Vermont was an independent republic from 1777 to 1791. It was not admitted as the 14th state until 1791. Nevertheless, Vermont militia served during the Revolutionary War and records are available in both federal and state records.

If a person supported the Revolution, he may be mentioned in records as a rebel, patriot, or Whig. Those who opposed the Revolution were Loyalists or Tories.

Patriots

Service and pension records and indexes for patriots are available on film at the National Archives and the Family History Library. See U.S. Military Records for these sources. Sources including information specifically about Vermont soldiers are:

  • Fisher, Carleton Edward. Soldiers, Sailors, and Patriots of the Revolutionary War, Vermont. Camden, Maine: Picton Press, 1992. (Family History Library book 974.3 M2f.) The book indicates the soldier’s birth date and place, residence, and company. It may also include the name of the spouse and death or burial date and place.
  • Goodrich, John E. Rolls of the Soldiers in the Revolutionary War, 1775 to 1783: The State of Vermont. Rutland, Vermont: Tuttle, 1904. FHL book 974.3 M2g; film 896965; fiche 6046670 Digital version at Internet Archive. These rolls consist largely of payrolls, pay-table orders, and receipts. Information varies but it generally indicates soldier’s name and rank, days in service, pay per day, miles, and total. It is arranged by year and then by unit. It is indexed by name.

The 1835 Pension Roll

On June 5, 1834, the U.S. Senate required the Secretary of War to submit a statement showing the names of pensioners who were on the pension rolls or had previously been on the pension rolls. For more information on the 1835 Pension Roll see Revolutionary War Pension Records. The Pension Roll for Vermont is available online.

Loyalists

For Loyalist records, see Canada Military Records, and also:

  • Sequestration, Confiscation, and Sale of Estates. State Papers of Vermont, v.6. Montpelier, Vermont: Secretary of State, 1941. FHL book 973.6 B4s v.6; film 1321236, item 4. This source includes an index. During the Revolutionary War, many residents would not sign an Oath of Allegiance to the rebel government. Their lands and property were confiscated, and by 1778 many fled to Canada. In 1783, after the war, many returned to Vermont, decided to sign the Oath of Allegiance, and petitioned to have their property returned. This 465-page source lists their names, claims, and value.
  • Burleigh, H.C. Sequestrations, Confiscations, and Sale of Estates. Toronto: United Empire Loyalists Association of Canada, 1970. (Family History Library book 974.3 A1 no.55.) Most of the names on this 10-page list show only the Vermont town (court) where their property was confiscated. A few records mention their service to the British. These records were abstracted from records in the New York State Library.

War of 1812 (1812-1815)

The War of 1812 between Britain and the United States confirmed the separate existence of the United States and the future Canada.

See the Wiki article, Vermont in the War of 1812, for information concerning military records, histories, links to relevant web sites, etc. for Vermont.

There are helpful nationwide records for soldiers of the War of 1812. For more information, see United States in the War of 1812.

Mexican War (1846-1848)

The Mexican War was caused by the annexation of Texas by the United States in 1845. Most volunteer regiments were from southern states. Records of Mexican War veterans might exist in a state where the veteran later resided.

  • Mexican War Index to Pension Files, 1887–1926. (NARA T317). FHL films 0537000–13 Alphabetically arranged and includes the veteran’s name, rank, and unit; names of dependents; date of filing and application; certificate numbers; act filed under; and state from which application was made. Also available at:
  • Robarts, William Hugh. Mexican War Veterans : A Complete Roster of the Regular and Volunteer Troops in the War Between the United States and Mexico, from 1846-1848… Washington, D.C. : Brentano’s, 1887. FHL book 973 M2rwh Digital version available at Internet Archive.

Click on these links to learn more about the Mexican War and about Mexican War pension records.

Civil War (1861–1865)

Lieutenant-Commander George Dewey (later Admiral)
See Vermont in the Civil War for information about Vermont Civil War records, web sites, etc. with links to articles about the Vermont regiments involved in the Civil War. The regimental pages often include lists of the companies with links to the counties where the companies started. Men in the companies often lived in the counties where the companies were raised. Knowing a county can help when researching more about the soldiers and their families.

The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System allows name searching for soldiers. The result set gives the regiments for the soldiers. Then you can check the Wiki regiment pages to determine counties. Often knowing the counties that had men in a regiment will help you determine if a soldier was your ancestor.

Militia Records, 1861–1867

Town clerks created lists of those men in the state of Vermont who were eligible to serve in the military.

Also see:

Spanish-American War (1898)

The Spanish-American War was largely fought in Cuba and the Philippines. Spanish-American War records might exist in the state from which the soldier served or in a state where the veteran later resided.

Indexes

A published roster of soldiers is:

  • Vermont in the Spanish-American War. Montpelier, Vermont: Herbert T. Johnson, 1929. FHL book 974.3 M2vs; film 1320525, item 9 Digital version at Internet Archive. This source is arranged by unit or branch of the service, then by name. It includes residence, birthplace, age, and enlistment date. Some entries indicate the soldier’s date of death, rank, and muster out date and place.

Click on the link to learn more about the Spanish American War.

World War I (1917-1918)

World War I was a global war fought on multiple continents with several nations involved. Over four million men and women served from the United States.

  • United States. Selective Service System. Vermont, World War I Selective Service System Draft Registration Cards, 1917–1918. National Archives Microfilm Publications, M1509. Washington, DC: National Archives, 1987–88. (On 17 Family History Library films beginning with 1984059) Also available at:

United States World War I Draft Records provides additional information.

For a list of men and women in the military, see:

  • Vermont. Adjutant General’s Office. Roster of Vermont Men and Women in the Military and Naval Service of the United States and Allies in the World War, 1917–1919. Rutland, Vermont: Tuttle, 1927. FHL book 974.3 M2vav At various libraries (WorldCat). In addition to the name, this includes the soldier’s residence, town of birth, age, enlistment date, organization, and discharge date.

World War II (1941-1945)

On April 27, 1942, the Selective Service conducted the fourth of six draft registrations related to WWII. The "World War II Selective Service Draft Cards: Fourth Registration, 1942" is often referred to as the “Old Man’s Registration” or the “Old Man’s Draft" because it included men with a date of birth from April 28, 1877 to February 16, 1897. Since there is overlap in the WWI and WWII Selective Service registration, men born in the years 1877 to 1900 may have registered twice and have both WWII and WWI draft records.

Also available at:

For a list of Vermonters in all services, see:

  • Vermont. Adjutant General’s Office. Roster of Vermonters in Uniformed Service in the United States During the Second World War, 1941–1945. 2 vols. Montpelier, Vermont: Adjutant General’s Office, 1972–74. FHL book 974.3 M2var At various libraries (WorldCat). This roster includes the name of the soldier, full date of birth, town of birth, residence, and dates of enlistment and separation from the service. For additions and changes, see:
  • Vermont. Adjutant General’s Office. Additions and Changes to the Roster of Vermonters, WWII, 1941–1945. Montpelier, Vermont: Adjutant General’s Office, 1976?. (Family History Library book 974.3 M2var supp.)

World War II United States Military Records provides additional information.

Korean War (1950–1953)

The Korean War was a conflict between North Korea (and its communist allies) and South Korea (with support of the United Nations, primarily the United States). See the Korean War wiki article for information on records and their availability.

Vietnam War (1964–1972)

The Vietnam War was a conflict between North Vietnam (and its communist allies) and South Vietnam (with support of its anti-communist allies, including the United States). See the Vietnam War wiki article for information on records and their availability.

Web Sites




 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 December 2012, at 18:27.
  • This page has been accessed 13,974 times.