Vermont TaxationEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Vermont  Gotoarrow.png  Taxation

Tax records vary in content. They may include the name and residence of the taxpayer, description of personal property, number of males over 21, and farm animals. They are usually arranged by date and locality and are not usually indexed. Tax records can be used in place of missing land and census records to locate a person’s residence.

Some tax lists are in the town records and also in the manuscript collection Vermont State Papers. See Vermont Town Records and Vermont Public Records

The 1862 to 1866 Civil War income tax assessment lists for Vermont are at the National Archives (Washington), the National Archives Northeast Region (Boston), and at the Family History Library:

  • United States. Commissioner of Internal Revenue. Internal Revenue Assessment Lists for Vermont, 1861–1866. National Archives Microfilm Publication, M0792. Washington, D.C.: National Archives, 1980. This lists the name of the person taxed and their residence. It may also list occupation and type of tax. (Family History Library films 1578444–50.)

For additional information on the genealogical value of tax records, see United States Taxation

Vermont tax records can be found in the FamilySearch Catalog by using a Place Search for:

VERMONT- TAXATION
VERMONT, [COUNTY], [TOWN]- TAXATION

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,190 times.