Vernon County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Vernon County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Vernon County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Vernon County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1851
County Seat Viroqua
Courthouse
Address Vernon County Courthouse
400 Courthouse Square Street
Viroqua, WI 54665
Phone:. 608.637.5380
Vernon County Website
WI Vernon.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Vernon County Courthouse
400 Courthouse Square Street
Viroqua, WI 54665
Phone:. 608.637.5380 

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records; Register
in Probate has probate records [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1862 - Vernon County was created 22 March 1862 by the renaming of Bad Ax County. County seat: Viroqua [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

In the town of Forest is the Mount Tabor Cemetery. It is located in a very rural part of the county, on County Highway V. Even though the cemetery is listed under the town of Forest, Wisconsin, google maps places the cemetery in Hillsboro, Wisconsin. A common surname in this cemetery is Cox.

Census

Church History and Records

Lutheran
  • Records of Zion Lutheran Church, Vernon County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Vernon County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Vernon County.

- 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company H
- 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company I
- 7th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company H
- 8th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company F

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Vernon County Historical Society
Viroqua, Wisconsin
e-mail: vcmuseum@frontiernet.net
fax: 608–637–8736
Facebook

The Vernon County Historical Society (VCHS) is the officially recognized county organization for the preservation of Vernon County's historical heritage. A genealogical class is held on the 2nd Thursday of the month. Check the online schedule for date and time.

Westby Area Historical Society
Thoreson House
101 Black River Ave
Westby WI 54667
608–634–4120

The Westby Area Historical Society (WAHS) meets on the first Monday of each month at 1:30 p.m. at the Thoreson House. Winter meetings are held at the Halvorson Apartments.

The first settlers arrived in Vernon County, Wisconsin in the 1840s, and many of their descendants are still in the area. Others have carried their heritage to the ends of the country and beyond. Our goal is to collect and preserve their stories, family artifacts and other memorabilia, and to educate future generations in the heritage of this community.

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 760 Vernon, Wisconsin
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 21:34.
  • This page has been accessed 4,699 times.