Vest-Agder County, NorwayEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Vest-Agder County, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
It is the southernmost county in Norway, extending inland from the North Sea and its arm, the Skagerrak. Most of the habitation lies along the coast, including the towns Kristiansand, Mandal, Flekkefjord, and Farsund. Some 31 fjords are located there. Shipping, commerce and recreation are the main industries. As the Gulf Stream touches the coast of Vest-Agder, it is also called "the Norwegian Riviera".
Family History Resources
Government Offices and Sites
Kristiansand includes Finsland, Kristiansand, Oddernes, Søgne, Tveit and Øvrebø clerical districts.
Kvinesdal and Sirdal includes Bakke, Fjotaland, Flekkefjord, Kvinesdal and Sirdal clerical districts.
Lista and Lyngdal includes Herad, Hægebostad, Lyngdal and Vanse (Lista) clerical districts.
Mandal and Audnedal includes Bjelland, Holum, Mandal, Nord-Audnedal, Sør-Audnedal and Åseral clerical districts.
Cities, Parishes, Clerical Districts in Vest-Agder County
1886 and 1838 land registers are found at The Norwegian Historical Data Centre. These are Excel files, which can be downloaded. The give the name of the farm, the farm owner, and the amount of tax. Both farms and sub-farms are included.
Probate Jurisdiction Map
Return to Norway Page
- This page was last modified on 8 December 2014, at 21:13.
- This page has been accessed 5,966 times.