VietnamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Asia Gotoarrow.png Vietnam

Guide to Vietnam ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Vietnam rice fields.jpg.jpg
News and Events


Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)


Vietnam emblem
Flag of Vietnam
Location of Vietnam in S.E.Asia

Vietnam is officially the Socialist Republic of Vietnam (SRV; Cộng hòa Xã hội chủ nghĩa Việt Nam. It is on the eastern coast of the Indochina Peninsula of Southeast Asia.

Vietnam was part of the Imperial China Empire for about a thousand years from about 100 BC . It gained independence at the Battle of the Bach Dang river in AD 938, and was then led for hundreds of years by a succession of Vietnamese Royal Dynasties.

With the advent of European colonial imperialism, Vietnam became a territory controlled by the French. It remained that way until WWII, when the Japanese took over the territory for a while. After WWII the Vietnamese fought a series of guerrilla wars with the French, expelling them in 1954.

The country was then effectively split into two countries, North and South Vietnam, the north with a communist idealogy, and the south somewhat more free, but very corrupt.

The two sides entered into a war of aggression, with the USA coming in on the side of the South. That war ended with victory by the North, and Vietnam became a unified, communist, country, in 1975. It remained isolated and impoverished until 1986, when the country opened up to foreign investment, and is now a bustling capitalistic economy but with a Communist style Central Government (patterned after that of Mainland China).

It is a country of dense jungles and an interior of high mountains, requiring the use of terraces, as shown in the picture at the top of the page, to provide level ground for the growing of rice and other food staples.

Getting started with Vietnam research

The following link provides some basic information on starting with Vietnam ancestors: http://www.familytree.com/culture/vietnamese-genealogy/

For those who may have Chinese origins, the following website may provide name based links: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chinese_surname

Jurisdictions

(Your text or images here)

Research Tools

Vietnam has no central repository for birth, marriage, and death certificates. Persons desiring this information need to contact the city or province to determine what is available.

The following listing, provided by wikipedia, provides province names and locations as a starting point:


Red River Delta


Bắc Ninh Hà Nam Hải Dương Hưng Yên Nam Định Ninh Bình Thái Bình Vĩnh Phúc Hanoi (municipality) Hai Phong (municipality)

Northeast


Bắc Giang Bắc Kạn Cao Bằng Hà Giang Lạng Sơn Lào Cai Phú Thọ Quảng Ninh Thái Nguyên Tuyên Quang Yên Bái

Northwest


Điện Biên Hòa Bình Lai Châu Sơn La

North Central Coast


Hà Tĩnh Nghệ An Quảng Bình Quảng Trị Thanh Hóa Thừa Thiên–Huế


Central Highlands


Đắk Lắk Đắk Nông Gia Lai Kon Tum Lâm Đồng

South Central Coast


Bình Định Bình Thuận Khánh Hòa Ninh Thuận Phú Yên Quảng Nam Quảng Ngãi Da Nang (municipality)

Southeast


Bà Rịa–Vũng Tàu Bình Dương Bình Phước Province Đồng Nai Tây Ninh Ho Chi Minh City (municipality)

Mekong Delta


An Giang Bạc Liêu Bến Tre Cà Mau Đồng Tháp Hậu Giang Kiên Giang Long An Sóc Trăng Tiền Giang Trà Vinh Vĩnh Long Cần Thơ (municipality)


The provinces are subdivided into provincial municipalities (thành phố trực thuộc tỉnh), townships (thị xã) and counties (huyện), which are in turn subdivided into towns (thị trấn) or communes (xã). The centrally controlled municipalities are subdivided into districts (quận) and counties, which are further subdivided into wards (phường).

Municipalities:

  • Can Tho
  • Da Nang
  • Hai Phong
  • Ha Noi
  • Ho Chi Minh


The following is a link to the Vietnamese Government's website about Vietnam.

To get the website in Vietnamese, go to:


Genealogy Research Tools

Forums

Useful Websites

This is a link to find a country's embassy for Vietnam.

Things you can do

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:

(Additional Heading)

(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 01:13.
  • This page has been accessed 4,334 times.