Vigo County, IndianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Indiana
Vigo County
Guide to Vigo County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Vigo County, Indiana | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location of Indiana in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | January 21, 1818 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Terre haute | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Vigo County Courthouse 333 Wabash Avenue PO Box 8449 Terre Haute, IN 47808 Phone: 812.462.3214 County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Historical Facts
Vigo County, Indiana was organized on the basis of a 21 Jan 1818 legislative act. That act took effect on 1 Feb 1818.
Parent County
1818--Vigo County was created 21 January 1818 fromSullivan County. County seat: Terre Haute [1]
Boundary Changes
Parke County was formed 9 Jan 1821 from the northern part of Vigo County. Vigo's boundaries were also altered as a result of the formation of Putnam County in 1821.
Populated Places
Townships
Vigo County's original townships were Honey Creek, Harrison, Independence, and Wabash. Current townships are as follows:
- Fayette: ePodunk | Wikipedia
- Harrison: ePodunk | Wikipedia
- Honey Creek: ePodunk | Wikipedia
- Linton: ePodunk | Wikipedia
- Lost Creek: ePodunk | Wikipedia
- Nevins: ePodunk | Wikipedia
- Otter Creek: ePodunk | Wikipedia
- Pierson: ePodunk | Wikipedia
- Prairie Creek: ePodunk | Wikipedia
- Prairieton: ePodunk | Wikipedia
- Riley: ePodunk | Wikipedia
- Sugar Creek: ePodunk | Wikipedia
Incorporated
- Riley: Wikipedia
- Seelyville: ePodunk | Wikipedia
- Terre Haute: City-Data.com | CVB | ePodunk | HomeTownLocator | official site | Wikipedia
- West Terre Haute: City-Data.com | ePodunk | Wikipedia
Unincorporated
- Allendale
- Burnett
- Lewis
- Libertyville
- Pimento
- Prairieton
- St. Mary's
- Sandford
Neighboring Counties
Record Loss
Vigo County, Indiana Resources
General
- Basic Sources for Genealogical Research in Vigo County (pdf) (Vigo County Public Library)
African-Americans
- Inventories to Collections: African-American (Vigo County Public Library)
Bible Records
Cemeteries
- Cemetery Search Results [Vigo County] (Find A Grave)
- Vigo County (Tombstone Transcription Project)
- Vigo County Cemeteries (ePodunk)
- Vigo County Cemeteries (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- Vigo County Cemeteries (Vigo County Public Library)
- Vigo County Cemetery Records (Interment.net)
- Vigo County, Indiana Cemeteries (IN GenWeb)
- Wilhoit, Virginia, and Nelson Eddy. Cemeteries, Vigo County, Indiana. Owensboro, KY: Cook & McDowell Publications (abt 1980-1982). WorldCat
Specific Cemeteries
- Bethesda Cemetery, West Terre Haute, Vigo County, Indiana
- Roberts Cemetery: Robbins, Coy D. Roberts Cemetery Burials: Lost Creek Settlement, Vigo County, Indiana, 1866-1911. Bloomington, IN: Self-published, 1996. WorldCat
Census Records
For tips on accessing Vigo County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.
- Vigo County Census (GenWeb)
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Vigo County, Indiana (1880) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Church Records
- First Baptist Church, Terre Haute (GenWeb)
- Inventories to Collections: Churches (Vigo County Public Library)
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic and Religious Groups
Genealogies and Biographies
- Brown, Mrs. Herbert E. Vigo County, Indiana Family Records. [n.p.], 1966. WorldCat
- Curtis Gilbert Biography (Vigo County Public Library)
- Dorrel, Ruth. Vigo County, Indiana Index of Names of Persons and of Firms. Indianapolis: County History Indexing Project, Indiana Historical Society, 1982. WorldCat
- Farwell, Bonnie. Genealogical and Historical Sketches of Vigo County, Indiana. Terre Haute, IN: Daughters of the American Revolution, 1929. WorldCat
- Inventories to Collections: Manuscript Collections (Vigo County Public Library)
- Noah S. Grindle Diary, 1875 (GenWeb)
- Vigo County, Indiana Biographies Project
- Vigo County, Indiana Family Records. Terre Haute, IN: Ft. Harrison Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, 1945. WorldCat
- Wright, John D. The Terror of Terre Haute: Bud Taylor and the 1920s. Indianapolis: Dog Ear Publishing, 2008. Google Books (limited preview)
Land and Property
Local Histories
- Beckwith, Hiram Williams. History of Vigo and Parke Counties Together with Historic Notes on the Wabash Valley. Chicago: H.H. Hill and N. Iddings, 1880. FHL US/CAN Film 540238 (item 2) and 934921 (item 3) | WorldCat | FamilySearch Books Online (digital copy)
- Bradsby, Henry C. History of Vigo County, Indiana, with Biographical Selections. Chicago: S.B. Nelson & Co., 1891. Reprint edition, Evansville, IN: Unigraphic, 1969. FHL US/CAN Book 977.245 H2b | WorldCat | Internet Archive (digital copy)
- History (Linkpendium)
- Jerse, Dorothy W., and John R. Becker III. Terre Haute & Vigo County in Vintage Postcards (Postcard History series). Charleston, SC: Arcadia Publishing, 2001. Google Books (limited preview)
- McCormick, Mike. Terre Haute: Queen City of the Wabash. Charleston, SC: Arcadia Publishing, 2005. Google books (limited preview)
- Oakey, C.C. Greater Terre Haute and Vigo County, Vol. 2. Chicago: Lewis Publishing Co., 1908. Google Books (digital copy)
- Roznowski, Tom. An American Hometown: Terre Haute, Indiana 1927. Bloomington, IN: Quarry Books, 2009. Google Books (limited preview)
Maps
- 1914 Vigo County Map (GenWeb)
- Andreas, A.T. Atlas Map of Vigo County, Indiana. Chicago: A.T. Andreas, 1874. WorldCat
- Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Vigo County, Indiana. Norman, OK: Arphax Publishing Co., 2006. WorldCat. Available online at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Libre Map Project (detailed topographical maps)
- Maps and Gazetteers (Linkpendium)
- Standard Atlas of Vigo County, Indiana. Terre Haute, IN: Vigo Atlas Map Co., 1907. WorldCat
- Vigo County, Indiana 1895 (GenWeb)
- Vigo County, Indiana Townships (North of I-70) (GenWeb)
- Vigo County, Indiana Townships (South of I-70) (GenWeb)
- Vigo County Townships Map (GenWeb)
Migration
Military Records
General
- Fort Harrison Centennial Association. Fort Harrison on the Banks of the Wabash 1812-1912. Terre Haute, IN: Moore-Langen Printing Co. for John Morton Chapter, Sons of the American Revolution, 1912. WorldCat | Google Books (digital copy) | Internet Archive (digital copy)
- Inventories to Collections: Wars & Military Records (Vigo County Public Library)
- List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883 Vigo County, Indiana(Internet Archive)
- Pension Application & Affidavits of Joseph Mitchell (GenWeb)
- African American Veterans in Vigo County, Indiana (1890) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Revolutionary War
- Revolutionary War, 1775-1783
- Revolutionary War Soldiers of Vigo County (Wabash Valley Visions & Voices)
Mexican War
- Inventories to Collections: Mexican War(Vigo County Public Library)
Civil War
Civil War service men from Vigo County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Vigo County.
- 1st Regiment, Indiana Heavy Artillery, Company C
- 1st Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies I, and M
- 3rd Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 6th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies B, and M
- 7th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies G, K, and I
- 8th Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 11th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company D
- 11th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies C, D, and Reorganized Companies C, D, and K
- 13th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company K
- 13th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Companies E, F, G, I, and K:
- 14th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company F
- 16th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company I
- 18th Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 20th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company B
- 22nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company F
- 31st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies C, E, and K
- 32nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company E
- 35th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
- 40th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C
- 43rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company D
- 52nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
- 59th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company G
- 84th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
- 85th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies C, E, F, and G
- 115th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (6 months, 1863-4), Company K
- Enlisted Men, Company K, 115th Regiment (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- 123rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C
- 129th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 133rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies C, D, E, H, and I
- 149th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, B, C, F, H, and K
- 28th US Colored Troops, Companies D, G, and Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
Civil War Resources:
- Bradsby, Henry C., History of Vigo County, Indiana with Biographical Selections, Chapter 30: "War." Chicago: S.B. Nelson & Co., 1891. Reprint edition, Evansville, IN: Unigraphic, 1969,pp. 547-560. FHL US/CAN Book 977.245 H2 | Internet Archive (digital copy)
- Inventories to Collections: Civil War(Vigo County Public Library)
- Vigo County, Indiana Civil War Sesquicentennial Project (Wabash Valley Visions & Voices)
- A Tribute to Vigo County, Indiana Soldiers
Spanish-American War
- Inventories to Collections: Spanish-American War (Vigo County Public Library)
World War I
- Inventory to Collections: World War I (Vigo County Public Library)
- Vigo County, Indiana: A Record of Men and Women Who Died in the Service of the United States and the Allied Nations in the World War, 1914-1918 (Genealogy Trails)
World War II
- Inventory to Collections: World War II (Vigo County Public Library)
Korean War
- Inventories to Collections: Korean War (Vigo County Public Library)
Vietnam War
- Inventories to Collections: Vietnam War (Vigo County Public Library)
Miscellaneous
- Inventories to Collections: Associations, Clubs & Organizations (Vigo County Public Library)
- Inventories to Collections: Businesses (Vigo County Public Library)
- Rose Orphans' Home 1884-1949
Naturalization and Citizenship
- Index to Declarations of Intention. Terre Haute, IN: Wabash Valley Genealogical Society, [1980?]. WorldCat
Newspapers
- Newspaper Articles (GenWeb)
- Vigo County, Indiana Obituaries(GenWeb)
- Vigo County Obituaries Page (GenWeb)
- Wabash Valley Obituary Index (Vigo County Public Library)
Obituaries
Occupations
Periodicals
Probate Records
- Vigo County Wills (GenWeb)
Public Records
Repositories
Archives
County Courthouse
Vigo County Courthouse
333 Wabash Avenue
PO Box 8449
Terre Haute, IN 47808
Phone: 812.462.3214
County Clerk has marriage, probate and court records from from 1818 and divorce records from 1825.[2]
- Vigo County Courthouse (Facebook)
- Vigo County Courthouse(Wikipedia)
Family History Centers
Libraries
- Terre Haute, Indiana Family History Center
- Vigo County Historical Museum
- Vigo County Historical Society
- Vigo County Public Library (searchable online marriage data and obituaries)
- Wabash Valley Genealogical Society, Terre Haute
Societies
School Records
- Students of Garfield High School, Terre Haute (1936-1939) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Teachers of Garfield High School, Terre Haute (1936) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Inventories to Collections: Colleges and Universities (Vigo County Public Library)
- Inventories to Collections: Schools (Vigo County Public Library)
Taxation
= Vital Records
General
- Vital Records (Linkpendium)
Births
- [1882-1920] Works Progress Administration. Index to birth records, Vigo County, 1882-1920. Indianapolis: Indiana State Library, 1983. FHL 1380337
Marriages
- [1818-1951] Vigo County Marriage Index: 1818-1951 (images included for many years) (Vigo County Library)
- [1818-1850] Lansaw, Simona. Marriages, Vigo County, Indiana, 1818-1850. Utica, Kentucky: McDowell Publications, 198-? FHL 977.245 V22L | WorldCat
- [1840-1920] Works Progress Administration.Index to marriage records, Vigo County, 1840-1920. Indianapolis: Indiana State Library, 1983. FHL 1380338
- [1880-1920] Works Progress Administration.Index to supplemental record, marriage transcript, Vigo County, 1880-1920. Indianapolis: Indiana State Library, 1983. FHL 1380339
Deaths
- [1882-1920]Works Progress Administration. Index to death records, Vigo County, 1882-1920.Indianapolis: Indiana State Library, 1983. FHL 1380337
- [1900-present]Wabash Valley Obituary Index. Obituaries published in Terre Haute newspapers. Online courtesy of the Vigo County Library.
- see also Newspapers > Obituaries
Voting Registration
Vigo County, Indiana Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Vigo County (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- Vigo County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Vigo County, Indiana Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Vigo County, Indiana GenWeb (IN GenWeb)
- Vigo County, Indiana History and Pioneer Genealogy(Indiana County History Preservation Society)
- Wabash Valley Visions & Voices: A Digital Memory Project
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Vigo County, Indiana 217 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
| This Indiana-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 22:58.
- This page has been accessed 4,073 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
