Vilas County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Vilas County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Vilas County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Vilas County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 12, 1893
County Seat Eagle River
Courthouse
Address Vilas County Courthouse
330 Court Street
Eagle River, WI 54521
Phone: 715.479.3600
VilasCounty Website
WI Vilas.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Vilas County Courthouse
330 Court Street
Eagle River, WI 54521
Phone: 715.479.3600 

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land 
records; Register in probate has probate records [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1893--Vilas County was created 12 April 1893 from Oneida County.  County seat: Oneida [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History and Records

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 760 Vilas, Wisconsin
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:36.
  • This page has been accessed 3,305 times.