Vinton County, OhioEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Vinton County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Vinton County, Ohio | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location of Ohio in the U.S. | |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Vinton County Courthouse 100 E. Main St. McArthur, Ohio 45651 Vinton County Website |
|---|---|
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| *For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent Counties: Formed from Athens, Gallia, Hocking, Jackson, and Ross Counties in 1850.
- County Seat: McArthur
- Neighboring Counties: Vinton County, Ohio residents may also have records in [1]Hocking (north) · Gallia (south) · Ross (west) · Jackson (southwest) · Meigs (southeast) · Athens (east)
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Vinton County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
- Locust Grove Cemetery
- Vinton County, Ohio Cemeteries by Township
- Vinton County, Ohio Cemeteries by Cemetery Name
- Tombstone Records at Bowen Cemetery, Vinton County
- Curry Cemetery Gravestone Transcription
- Hamilton Cemetery
- Elk Cemetery, McArthur BillionGraves
- Old McArthur Cemetery
- Strongsville Cemetery
- St. Adelbert's Cemetery
- The Political Graveyard
- Ohio Cemetery Records $
- Vinton County Cemeteries
- St. Mary's Church and Cemetery
- Vinton County Cemeteries
- Ohio Gravestone
- Find A Grave
- Ohio Tombstone Photo Project
- Many Cemetery Records for Vinton County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.
Census and Directories
- United States Census Mortality Schedules, 1850 (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- United States Census 1850
- United States Census 1860
- 1860 United States Federal Census $
- United States Census 1870
- United States Census 1880 (Index only)
- 1880 United States Federal Census $
- U. S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 $
- United States Census 1900
- 1910 United States Federal Census $
- 1920 United States Federal Census $
- 1930 Census of Merchant Seamen $
- 1930 United States Federal Census $
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.
- Gateway to Vinton County, Churches
- Topographic Map Church Features in Vinton County
- Vinton County, Ohio Churches
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Vinton County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
Court Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Funeral Homes
- Vinton County Funeral Homes
- Many Funeral Home Records for Vinton County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local histories are available for Vinton County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.
Local Histories
- Vinton County, Ohio History Sources
- Historical Collections of Ohio by Henry Howe
- A History of New Plymouth by Mrs. Merle Huggins and Flossie M. Monks
- Vinton County, Ohio Biography (WorldCat)
- Many History Records for Vinton County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Land Patent Search
- Vinton County, Ohio Land Patents
- Many Land and Property Records for Vinton County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Maps
- 1875 Vinton County, Ohio Township Maps, shows property owners
- 1877 Vinton County Map
- 1895 Vinton County, Ohio U. S. Atlas
- Maps of Vinton County, Ohio
- Map of Vinton, County Ohio With Municipal and Township Labels
- Vinton County Map
- Many Maps for Vinton County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Military
- Civil War
- - Civil War service men from Vinton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Vinton County.
- - 114th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company A
- - Ohio in the Civil War
- - Civil War Collection $
- - Many Military (Civil War) Records for Vinton County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
- World War I
- - American War Dead
- - Vinton County, Ohio Soldiers in WWI, 1917-1918
- - World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 $
- -Many Military (Word War I) Records for Vinton County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, seetopic details.
- World War II
- - United States, World War II Draft Registraton Cards, 1942
- - Vinton County, Ohio World War II Casualties Army and Air Force
- Korean War
- Vietnam War
- Many Military Records for Vinton County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Naturalization and Citizenship
- Many Naturalization and Citizenship Records for Vinton County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Newspapers
Vinton County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.
For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.
- The Athens Messenger
- Vinton County Obituaries
- Vinton County Republican (1850-1852)
- Vinton County Flag (1852-1853)
- M'arthur Democrat (1853-1865)
- The Vinton Record (1866-1891)
- The Vinton Record and McArthur Courant (1891-1899)
- Vinton County, Ohio Newspapers
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate
Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Vinton County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Vinton County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:
- Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981). [2] FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).
- Many Probate Records for Vinton County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Vinton County Courthouse
County Courthouse
McArthur, OH 45651-1296
Phone: 740.596.4571
Probate Judge has birth and death records 1867-1950,
marriage records from 1850 and probate records from 1867;
County Health Department has birth records from 1950;
Clerk Court has divorce and land records from 1850[3]
Family History Centers
Libraries
- Ohio University Libraries, Collections
- Ohio Memory, A Collaborative Project of the Ohio Historical Society and the State Library of Ohio.
- Herbert Wescoat Memorial Library
Museums
Societies
- Vinton County Chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society
- The Ohio Genealogical Society
- Ohio Historical Society
- Ohio Memory, A Collaborative Project of the Ohio Historical Society and the State Library of Ohio.
Schools
Taxation
Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.
Finding Tax Records at Other Repositories
Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Vinton County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
Vital Records
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Vinton County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.
Original marriage records are held at the office of the Vinton County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Vinton County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.
Birth
Marriage
Death
- Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.
- Vinton County Birth, Death and Marriage Records
Many Vital Records for Vinton County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details. Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories
Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Vinton County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Gateway to Vinton County
- My Ohio Genealogy, Vinton County
- Vinton County Convention & Vistors' Bureau
- Cyndi's List, Vinton County
- Vinton County, Ohio Free Public Records Directory
- Find County Records
- Ohio Genealogy Trails
Places
Populated Places
- Origins of Vinton County Place Names
- Vinton County, Ohio GNIS
- Vinton County, Ohio WikipediA
- Vinton County Populated Places
References
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Vinton County, Ohio" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vinton_County,_Ohio (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Vinton County, Ohio. Page 546 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 25 May 2013, at 17:52.
- This page has been accessed 3,621 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


