Virginstow, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Virginstow, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Virginstow, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Virginstow, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lifton
County Devon
Poor Law Union Holsworthy
Registration District Holsworthy
Records begin
Parish registers: 1730
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tavistock
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office


Parish History

VIRGINSTOW (St. Bridget), a parish, in the union of Holsworthy, hundred of Lifton, Lifton and S. divisions of Devon, 6¼ miles (N. E. by N.) from Launceston. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Virginstow, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4][5]
FMP = Devon Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]
Virginstow, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1609-1911
FMP 1730-1837 1617-1836 1730-1837
FMP 1813-1839 1813-1839
TGEN 1730-1850

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch. Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 245.

Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241316.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Virginstow on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 428-429. Date accessed: 05 November 2013.
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Devon Parish Records Coverage,' Findmypast, accessed 15 November 2014.
  7. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 20 May 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 November 2015, at 01:37.
  • This page has been accessed 5,393 times.