Vowchurch, Herefordshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Vowchurch, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Vowchurch St Bartholomew Herefordshire
|Poor Law Union||Dore PLU|
|Parish registers: 1642|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1670|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
VOWCHURCH (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Dore, hundred of Webtree, county of Hereford, 10 miles (W. by S.) from Hereford. This parish is situated in the "Golden valley," and on the river Dore, celebrated as a fine trout stream. It is intersected by the road from Hereford to Hay. Patron, the Prebendary of Putson Major in the Cathedral of Hereford. The church is very ancient, and remarkable for its fine oak roof supported on large pillars of the same material. There was a chapel at Monington-Straddel, but it was pulled down some few years since, no clergyman being resident at the time. A free school is partly supported, and the poor have some small bequests. 
Vowchurch St Bartholomew is an Ancient parish which included the settlements of Mornington and Straddle within the parish boundary; the village and civil parish of Vowchurch is within the Golden Valley of Herefordshire Vowchurch Wikipedia
The Parish church of St Bartholomew has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.
The Diocesan Record Office for Herefordshire has deposited Parish registers and Bishop's transcripts
Herefordshire Archive Service
Herefordshire Record Office
Office Tel No: +44 (0)1432 260750
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Vowchurch
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 428-429. Accessed and adapted 22 May, 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 11 June 2015, at 18:53.
- This page has been accessed 2,129 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News