Wabash County, IndianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Indiana
Wabash County
Guide to Wabash County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Wabash County, Indiana | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location of Indiana in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | February 2, 1832 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Wabash | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Wabash County Courthouse 1 W Hill Street Wabash, IN 46992 Phone: 219.563.0661 County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Historical Facts
Parent County
1832--Wabash County was created 2February 1832from Cass and Grant Counties.
County seat:Wabash [1]
Boundary Changes
April 1870 Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
- Burned Counties Research in FamilySearch Wiki
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Wabash County, Indiana Resources
Bible Records
Biographies
Cemeteries
- Abshire Cemetery
- Algers Cemetery
- Albright-Young Cemetery (free, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- America Cemetery (free, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Boundary Line Cemetery (free, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Brooks Family Cemetery
- Cramer Cemetery
- Daniels Cemetery (free, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Freeze Cemetery
- Old Cripe Cemetery
- Wallace Cemetery, Wabash
Census Records
For tips on accessing Wabash County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Wabash County, Indiana (1880) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Church Records
Court Records
Directories
- Directory of Businesses in Wabash County, Indiana (1858) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic and Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogies
History
Local Histories
- Helm, Thomas B., L. H. Newton, and E. Tucker.History of Wabash County, Indiana: Containing a History of the County; Its Townships, Towns, Military Records; Portraits of Early Settlers and Prominent Men; Personal Reminiscences. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic, 1971.) 977.283 H2h FHLCollection BYU Library FamilySearch Books Online
- Weesner, Clarkson W. History of Wabash County, Indiana: A Narrative Account of Its Historical Progress, Its People and Its Principal Interests. (Chicago: Lewis Pub. Co, 2008.) 977.283 H2h FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other libraries Vol.1 INTERNET ARCHIVE Vol. 2
Land and Property
- Miami Indians who Received Land on Miami Reservation, Grant and Wabash Counties, Indiana (1873) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Maps
- Family Maps of Wabash County, Indiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Migration
Military Records
War of 1812
CIVIL WAR
Civil War service men from Wabash County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wabash County.
- 2nd Regiment, Indiana Cavalry (41st Regiment), Company F
- 3rd Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 7th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company L or K
- 8th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies H, and K, and Reorganized Companies F, K, and I
- 11th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company L
- 13th Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 13th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company G
- 14th Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 16th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Companies I, and K
- 17th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company F
- 20th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company H
- 34th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 35th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company F
- 46th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
- 47th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, D, and I
- 75th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A
- 89th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A
- 101st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies F, and K
- 118th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (6 months, 1863-4), Companies H, and K
- 130th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies E, G, and H
- 138th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies F, and G
- 153rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, B, F, and K
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
CIVIL WAR BOOK
- Thomas B. Helm, History of Wabash County",(Chicago : J. Morris, 1884.) Page 165-196 history of Civil War Companies From Wabash County, Indiana 977.283 H2h FamilySearch Books Online; FHLCollection
- "Indiana in the Civil War" in "Military Matters" Chapter 16 of Weesner, Clarkson W. History of Wabash County, Indiana: A Narrative Account of Its Historical Progress, Its People and Its Principal Interests. (Chicago: Lewis Pub. Co, 2008.), (page 261-286, Regiment, Company),977.283 H2h FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collectionother librariesVol.1INTERNET ARCHIVEVol. 2
World War I
World War II
Naturalization and Citizenship=
Newspapers
Obituaries
Occupations
- Roster of Civilian Conservation Corps, Lagro, Wabash County, Indiana (1938) - Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Periodicals
Probate Records
Public Records
Repositories
Archives
County Courthouse
Wabash County Courthouse
;1 W Hill Street
Wabash, IN 46992
Phone: 219.563.0661
County Clerk has marriage, probate and court records from 1835.
County Health Department has birth and death records
County Recorder and Museum has burial records. [2]
Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
- Wabash County, Indiana Obituary Collection Free from GenealogyBuff.com. From Various Funeral Homes in the Wabash County area
- Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
- Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892 - Ancestry.con $
- Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 - FamilySearch
- Indiana Marriage, 1811-1959 - FamilySearch
Death Records
- Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 - FamilySearch
Voting Registration
Wabash County, Indiana Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Wabash County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wabash County, Indiana 217 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
| This Indiana-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 22:59.
- This page has been accessed 2,449 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
