Wakefield, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-YGotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Wakefield

Guide to Wakefield, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

  
Wakefield, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Wakefield PLU
Registration District Wakefield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1613
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WAKEFIELD (All Saints), a borough, market town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York; containing, with the townships of Alverthorpe with Thornes, and Stanley with Wrenthorpe, and the chapelry of Horbury, 29,992 inhabitants, of whom 14,754 are in the town, 30 miles (S.W. by W.) from York, and 184 (N. N. W.) from London. There are also places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics [1]

Neighboring Parishes

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Wakefield exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
WAKEFIELD PARISH (1600) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1613-1812 1613-1812 1613-1812 1613-1812 1613-1812 1613-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910
BIVRI 1600-1640 (gaps)
1600-1641

FS 1600-1911

1716-1912

1608-1913

JOIN None

1813-1837

None

Alverthorpe Chapelry (1825) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1825-1910 1825-1910 1834-1935 1834-1935 1825-1974 1825-1974
FREG 1825-1856 None None None None None
FS 1825-1901 None 1838-1890 None 1840-1905 None
STANLEY CHAPELRY (1800) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1824-1889

1832-1836

1800-1905

Cemeteries

Parish Records

Wakefield is an 'ancient' parish (created before 1813). Church of England records of Wakefield survive from as early as 1613 (All Saints), 1795 (St. John), 1843 (Holy Trinity), 1845 (St. Andrew), 1845 (St. Mary), 1862 (St Michael), and 1897 (St. Mark). In addition, the following pre-1837 Church of England chapelries were also found within Wakefield parish:

  • St. Peter's and St. Leonard's Horbury (1598)
  • St. Peter's Stanley (1824)
  • St. Paul's Alverthorpe (1825)
  • St. James' Thornes (1831)

The original registers are deposited at the West Yorkshire Archives in Wakefield. 

The copies made by the minister (ordered by an Act of 1598) and sent each year to the Bishop of the diocese (known as parish register transcripts or Bishop's transcripts) survive from 1600 and are deposited at the West Yorkshire Archives branch in Sheepscar, Leeds. 

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City has both parish registers and bishop's transcripts on microfilm for Wakefield and its chapelries, which are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog.  Many of these records are indexed in the International Genealogical Index available online through  familysearch.org.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464241.

Bibiography

Genealogy and History Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 432-436. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 13 May 2014.
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 27 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 November 2014, at 19:37.
  • This page has been accessed 2,607 times.