Wakefield St John, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Wakefield St John)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, S-YGotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Wakefield St John

Wakefield St John, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Wakefield PLU
Registration District Wakefield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1795
Bishop's Transcripts: 1796
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WAKEFIELD (All Saints), a borough, markettown, and parish, and the head of a union, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York; containing, with the townships of Alverthorpe with Thornes, and Stanley with Wrenthorpe, and the chapelry of Horbury, 29,992 inhabitants, of whom 14,754 are in the town, 30 miles (S. W. by W.) from York, and 184 (N. N. W.) from London. The district church dedicated to St. John, erected under a special act of parliament, at an expense of £10,000, in 1795, is finely situated in a spacious cemetery. Holy Trinity church was built at an expense of £4000, wholly by subscription. Two districts, named respectively St. Andrew's and St. Mary's, were endowed in 1844 by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners. [1]


Wakefield St John is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1816 from Wakefield [All Saints] Ancient Parish. Wakefield St John Parish Records begin 1795 Bishops Transcripts 1796 The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Wakefield, but the exact parish has not been identified: Baptist, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Independent/Congregational, Methodist New Connexion, Presbyterian Unitarian, Primitive Methodist, Roman Catholic, Society of Friends/Quaker, Wesleyan Methodist, and Wesleyan Methodist Reform.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Wakefield St. John exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
  WAKEFIELD ST. JOHN ECCELESIATICAL PARISH (1600) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1795-1812 1795-1812 1795-1812 1795-1812 1795-1812 1795-1812
AC 1906-1910 1906-1910
FS 1600-1911

1716-1912

1608, 1678-1866, 1887, 1913

JOIN None
1813-1837

None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Wakefield St. John to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Wakefield St. John page.

Online data content from chapelry registers of Wakefield St. John exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

Wakefield is an 'ancient' parish (created before 1813). Church of England records of Wakefield survive from as early as 1613 (All Saints), 1795 (St. John), 1843 (Holy Trinity), 1845 (St. Andrew), 1845 (St. Mary), 1862 (St Michael), and 1897 (St. Mark). In addition, the following pre-1837 Church of England chapelries were also found within Wakefield parish:

The original registers are deposited at the West Yorkshire Archives in Wakefield. 

The copies made by the minister (ordered by an Act of 1598) and sent each year to the Bishop of the diocese (known as parish register transcripts or Bishop's transcripts) survive from 1600 and are deposited at the West Yorkshire Archives branch in Sheepscar, Leeds. 

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City has both parish registers and bishop's transcripts on microfilm for Wakefield and its chapelries, which are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog.  Many of these records are indexed in the International Genealogical Index available online through  familysearch.org.

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464241.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 432-436. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 13 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 15:38.
  • This page has been accessed 1,230 times.