Walcot Holy Trinity, SomersetEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Walcot Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Somerset, created in 1839 from Walcot, Somerset Ancient Parish.
WALCOT Holy Trinity was one of several chapels of ease which subdivided the parish boundary of Walcot St Swithin, and was built by the year 1840 (when church registers commence) to ease the large population within the ancient parish.
WALCOT (St Swithin), a parish, in the union of Bath, partly within the city of Bath, and partly in the hundred of Bath-Forum, east division of Somerset. The parish includes those parts of the city lying on the north, north-east, and north-west sides of the parish of Bath St Michael; also some handsome ranges of buildings on the declivities of Lansdown and Beacon hills.
- Kensington Chapel - 1795 (a district chapelry)
- St Mary's Chapel, Queen-square - 1735 (see under Bath Abbey St Peter & St Paul)
- Walcot Avon Street Chapel - by 1825 (formerly a nonconformist chapel)
- Walcot All Saints, Lansdown Place - 1794
- Walcot Christ Church - 1798
- Walcot Holy Trinity Church, st James St - 1840 (a district chapel)
- Walcot St Stephen, Lansdown - 1845
- Walcot St Saviour - 1840
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Bath Civil Registration District has a complete index of civil registration from 1837-2007 online through the volunteer effort of Bath BMD,England Marriage registrations post 2007 are added as index become available. There are detailed content tables available.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Somerset Online Parish Clerks
Contributor include here any information about the transcripts for the parish and links to the Online Parish Clerk material.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474610. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 19 December 2013, at 17:12.
- This page has been accessed 605 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More