Waldo County, MaineEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Waldo County Maine genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Maine Gotoarrow.png Waldo County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Maine
Online Records
Waldo County, Maine
Map
Map of Maine highlighting Waldo County
Location in the state of Maine
Facts
Founded February 7, 1827
County Seat Belfast
Courthouse
Address Waldo County Courthouse
73 Church Street
Belfast, ME 04915-1705
Phone: 207.338.3282
Waldo County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records 1828-1887, divorce and court records from 1828.
City or Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial records.
Probate Court has probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [1]

History

Parent County

Created 7 February 1827 from parts of Hancock and Lincoln counties. [1]

Boundary Changes

  • One part set off to create Knox County 1 April 1860. [1]

Record Loss

Places / Localities

MaineWaldo CountyPenobscot CountyHancock CountyKnox CountyLincoln CountyKennebec CountySomerset CountyEagle IslandHurricane Isle (now part of Vinalhaven)Muscle Ridge Shoals TownshipLouds Island (aka Muscongus Isle Plantation)BurnhamTroyUnityThorndikeJacksonMonroeWinterportFrankfortProspectStockton SpringsSearsportSwanvilleBelfastWaldoBrooksKnoxFreedomMontvillePalermoLibertySearsmontMorrillBelmontLincolnvilleNorthportIslesboroStoningtonIsle au HautDeer IsleSedgwickBrooksvilleCastineBlue HillPenobscotVerona IslandOrlandBucksportDedhamEddingtonHoldenOrringtonBrewerVeazieBangorHampdenHermonCarmelNewburghDixmontEtnaPlymouthNewportPalmyraDetroitPittsfieldHartlandCanaanCornvilleSkowheganFairfieldClintonUnity TownshipBentonWatervilleWinslowAlbionChinaVassalboroAugustaWindsorSomervilleHibberts GoreWhitefieldJeffersonWaldoboroNobleboroAlnaNewcastleDamariscottaBremenBristolSouth BristolEdgecombWiscassetWashingtonUnionAppletonHopeCamdenRockportWarrenRocklandThomastonOwls HeadSouth ThomastonFriendshipCushingSaint GeorgeNorth HavenVinalhaven
Modern town borders in Waldo County, Maine. Towns with records are named in black. Unincorporated green places usually lack records.

Towns

Extinct town:[2]  North Anson[3]

Communities

  • Searsport
  • Unity
  • Winterport

Village

  • East Thorndike

Neighboring Counties

Hancock | Kennebec | Knox | Lincoln | Penobscot | Somerset

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

Court

Gazetteers

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Maine Land and Property for additional information about early Maine land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Waldo County, Maine. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Maine Local Histories.

Maps

Mewaldo.jpg

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Waldo County, Maine served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Waldo County, Maine:

- 4th Regiment, Maine Infantry 

Newspapers

Finding More Maine Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Waldo County, Maine newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records for Washington County, Maine can be found at https://familysearch.org/search/collection/1930294

Taxation

Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Waldo County, Maine page 305, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Before an extinct town was discontinued, it created official town records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
  3. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 117. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:50.
  • This page has been accessed 7,046 times.