Walker County, AlabamaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Alabama
Walker County
Guide to Walker County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Walker County, Alabama | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Alabama in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 26, 1823 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Jasper |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Walker County Courthouse 1801 3rd Avenue Jasper, AL 35501 Phone: (205) 384-7268 County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Records burned 1877
Probate Judge has marriage and probate records [1]
History
Parent County
1823--Walker County was created 26 December 1823 from Marion and Tuscaloosa Counties.
County seat: Jasper [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1865, 1877, 1896, and 1932 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Carbon Hill | Cordova | Dora | Jasper | Sumiton | Curry | Eldridge | Kansas | Nauvoo | Oakham | Parrish | Sipsey |
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
LDS Cemetery Records
US Vol. 24 page 1 - Popular Springs Cemetery
- Cemetery Records of Jefferson and Walker Counties, Alabama. Salt Lake City, Utah: The Society?, 1945. Digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes Chicksaw Cemetery, Coal City Cemetery, Easley Cemetery, Fike Cemetery, Holly Grove Cemetery, King Family Cemetery, Manasco Cemetery, and New Hope Cemetery.
Additional Walker County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 and Vol. 3 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1830 | 2,202 | ||
| 1840 | 4,032 | 83.1% | |
| 1850 | 5,124 | 27.1% | |
| 1860 | 7,980 | 55.7% | |
| 1870 | 6,543 | −18.0% | |
| 1880 | 9,479 | 44.9% | |
| 1890 | 16,078 | 69.6% | |
| 1900 | 25,162 | 56.5% | |
| 1910 | 37,013 | 47.1% | |
| 1920 | 50,593 | 36.7% | |
| 1930 | 59,445 | 17.5% | |
| 1940 | 64,201 | 8.0% | |
| 1950 | 63,769 | −0.7% | |
| 1960 | 54,211 | −15.0% | |
| 1970 | 56,246 | 3.8% | |
| 1980 | 68,660 | 22.1% | |
| 1990 | 67,670 | −1.4% | |
| 2000 | 70,713 | 4.5% | |
| 2010 | 67,023 | −5.2% | |
Church Records
Court Records
Land and Property
To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Walker County, Alabama see:
- Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Walker County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.176 E7b.
Local Histories
- Dombhart, John Martin. History of Walker County: Its Towns and Its People. Thornton, Ark.: Cayce Pub. Co., c1937. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Maps
- Family Maps of Walker County, Alabama (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Walker County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Walker County.
- - 4th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry (Roddy's), Company K
- - 22nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A
- - 28th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E, F and L
- - 43rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H, I and K
- - 50th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K, formerly Co. "?", 5th Battalion
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
Newspapers
Periodicals
Probate Records
Taxation
- 1847 - 1840's Walker County tax record, digitized by FamilySearch Books Online - free.
- 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Walker County is in District 3.
Vital Records
Birth
- 1881-1930 - Alabama, Births and Christenings, 1881-1930 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection. - free.
- Walker County Births at ALGenWeb - free. These are contributed by researchers and is a growing database.
Marriage
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- 1797, 1812, 1823, 1829, 1877-1879, 1881-1882, 1884, 1886, 1888-1889, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1797, 1812, 1823, 1829, 1877-1879, 1881-1882, 1884, 1886, 1888-1889, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1875-1895 - Walker County Marriage Index 1875-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1877-1889 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1877-1889 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1892-1897 - "Walker County Marriages, Book C 1892-1897," Walking Back in Time, Vol. 15, No. 3 (Sep. 2004):49; Vol. 15, No. 4 (Dec. 2004):72-73; Vol. 16, No. 1 (Mar. 2005):9; Vol. 16, No. 2 (June 2005):17-18; Vol. 16, No. 3 (Sep. 2005):39-40; Vol. 16, No. 4 (Dec. 2005):62-63. Digital version of Vol. 15 at FamilySearch Books Online; and Vol. 16 at FamilySearch Books Online - both free.
- Walker County Marriages at ALGenWeb - free. Some of these are from county records, and some are contributed by researchers and is a growing database.
Death
- 1881-1952 - Alabama, Deaths and Burials, 1881-1952 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection. - free.
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths Recorded by the State of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths Recorded by the State of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908-1974 - Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection. - free.
- Walker County Deaths at ALGenWeb - free.
Voting Registers
Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Walker County has two books:
Societies and Libraries
Libraries
The Carl Elliott Regional Library has the following libraries in Winston County:
- Carbon Hill Public Library
215 2nd Street NW
Carbon Hill, Alabama 35549
Telephone: 205-924-4254
- Jasper Public Library
98 18th Street East
Jasper, Alabama 35501
Telephone: 205-221-8512
- Sumiton Public Library
416 State Street
P. O. Box 10
Sumiton, Alabama 35148
Telephone: 205-648-7451
Family History Center
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Jasper Alabama
- 1612 18th Ave
Jasper, Walker, Alabama, United States
Hours: T 5pm-9pm; Th 10am-2pm
- 1612 18th Ave
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project may have maps, name indexes, history, or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- Walker County ALGenWeb ~ record transcriptions and information pertinent to the county.
- Walker County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Walker County p. 40. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Igialabamatz.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 1 May 2013, at 00:19.
- This page has been accessed 2,435 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


