Walker County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Georgia Gotoarrow.png Walker County

Guide to Walker County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Walker County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Walker County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 18, 1833
County Seat Lafayette
Courthouse
Address Walker County Courthouse]
103 S Duke Street
Lafayette, GA 30728-0445
Phone: 706.638.1742 
Walker County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Walker County Courthouse
103 S Duke Street
Lafayette, GA 30728-0445
Phone: 706.638.1742 

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1883; Probate judge has marriage and probate records; County Health Department has birth and death records[1]

Beginning Dates for Walker County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate






History

Parent County

1833--Walker County was created 18 December 1833 from Murray County. County seat: Lafayette [2]

Boundary Changes

In 1833 the territory of Walker included not only its present area, but all of Dade and a large part of Whitfield, Catoosa and Chattooga counties. In 1837 all of Walker's territory west of the top of Lookout Mountain was cut off and the county of Dade was established as the most northwestern county in the State. In 1838 another portion was cut off and the county of Chattooga was established. Then again in 1853, more territory was extracted and the county of Catoosa was formed. In 1853 and later in 1859 other portions of Walker County were used to make Whitfield County."--from The History of Walker County, Georgia by James Alfred Sartain. Published by A.J. Showalter Company, Dalton, Georgia, 1932

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
1883. The courthouse at LaFayette was burned 2 February 1883 at the hands of an unknown arsonist. His target was county records which he attempted to destroy several times over the next few months, finally ending on 6 September. No county courthouse records survive prior to 1883[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Walker County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Sartain, James Alfred. History of Walker County, Georgia. Dalton, Ga.: A.J. Showalter Co., 1932. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Index for History of Walker County by James Alfred Sartain. Lafayette, Ga.: Cherokee Regional Library, 1978. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Gawalker.jpg

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Walker County, Georgia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Walker County, Georgia:

- 1st Regiment, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate), Company F and I
- 1st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), 2d Company D
- 9th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 23rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 39th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies E and K
- 55th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate)
- 60th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battles were fought in Walker County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Georgia.
  • Fitch, Michael Hendrick. The Chattanooga Campaign: With Especial Reference to Wisconsin's Participation Therein. Madison, Wisc.: Wisconsin History Commission, 1911. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Walker County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • 1883-1917 - Index to Walker County, Georgia Wills, Volume I (1883-1917) at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1866-1887 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
  • 1883-1895 - Index to Walker County, Georgia Inventories and Appraisements Book A (1883-1895) at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1883-1892 - Index to Walker County Annual Returns and Vouchers Book A (1883-1888) and Book B (1888-1892) at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1883-1888 Index to Annual Returns, Vouchers, Book A Georgia Pioneers
  • 1888-1892 Index to Annual Returns and Vouchers, Book B Georgia Pioneers

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • 1882-1895 - Walker County Marriage Index 1882-1895. Batch M713891 at FamilySearch - free.[6]
Death
Vital Record Substitutes
  • 1885-1886 - Walker County Marriages from Newspapers 1885-1886 at Georgia Pioneers ($).

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Walker County, Georgia. Page 161 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 55. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:44.
  • This page has been accessed 7,231 times.