Walkingham Hill with OccaneyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-YGotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Walkingham-Hill with Occancey

Guide to Walkingham Hill with Occaney, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

  
Walkingham Hill with Occaney
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Claro
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Knaresborough PLU
Registration District Knaresborough
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WALKINGHAM-HILL, with Occaney, an extraparochial liberty, in the Upper division of the wapentake of Claro, W. riding of York, 4 miles (N.) from Knaresborough. [1]

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Walkingham Hill exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
WALKINGHAM HILL EXTRAPAROCHIAL LIBERTY (1***) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None
None
None
JOIN None
None
None
AC None
None
None
HATH None
None
None
IARC None
None
None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Walkingham Hill to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Walkingham Hill page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464251.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 439-440. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,027 times.