Walney, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Walney, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Walney, Lancashire
St Mary's Church, Vickerstown.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ulverston PLU
Registration District Ulverstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1744
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Furness and Cartmel
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

WALNEY, ISLE OF, a chapelry, in the parish of Dalton-in-Furness, union of Ulverston, hundred of Lonsdale north of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 5 miles southwest of Dalton in Furness, Lancashire. It was created a chapel of ease in 1742. The church is situated in Vickerstown which was an estate for worker housing constructed for workers at the Barrow shipyards and docks owned at the time by the Vickers company. Other places in the parish include: Barrow, Barrow Island, Biggar, Walney Island, Peel, Piel Island, and Hawcoat Division.[1]

The name Walney comes from the Old Norse valna ey, which means "Isle of the British". This name would have been given when Norse settlers were present in the area during the Viking Age. One of the main areas of settlement, Biggar Village has been inhabited since at least the 11th century. It is mentioned in the Domesday Book as Hougenai, or "island of Hougun" from the Old Norse word haugr meaning mound or hill.

The island is around eleven miles long and less than a mile wide at its widest point. It lies in the Irish Sea to the west of the Furness peninsula in north-west England. Until 1974 both the island and the peninsula were a detached part of the county of Lancashire but is now in Cumbria, the island being part of the borough of Barrow-in-Furness to which it has been connected by bridge (Jubilee Bridge) since 1908. Jubilee Bridge spans Walney Channel and until its commission, a ferry was used in order to cross the channel.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Walney chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Dalton in Furness to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


WALNEY Chapelry (1745) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
AC None None None
DALTON IN FURNESS PARISH Indexes (ancient parish containing WALNEY Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1565-1691 1565- 1691 None
LOPC 1689-1871 1565-1857 1565-1871
AC 1565-1691 1565-1691 1565-1691


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Wlaney and comprising the whole ancient parish of Dalton in Furness to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the DALTON IN FURNESS PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306915.


Poor Law Unions

Ulverston Poor Law Union,Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, [A Topographical Dictionary of England] (1848), pp. 444-449. Adapted. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,181 times.