Walsall St Matthew, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Walsall St Matthew, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Walsall St Matthew, Staffordshire
High Street, Walsall - geograph org uk - 197595.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Walsall PLU
Registration District Walsall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Walsall
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Walsall St Matthew is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Staffordshire. Other places in the parish include: Bridge Ward, St George Ward, Walsall Borough, Walsall Foreign, and Windmill.[1]

WALSALL (St. Matthew), a parish, and the head of a union, in the S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford; comprising the market-town and newly-enfranchised borough of Walsall, 18 miles (S. E. by S.)from Stafford, and 118 (N.W.) from London. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans,and Unitarians, and two Roman Catholic chapels.[2]

Walsall St Paul was formed as a district church in 1875 (see records below) subsequently deconsecrated it forms part of the Crossing Shopping Centre.
Former St Paul Walsall Staffordshire.jpg

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Walsall St Matthew Ancient Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
WALSALL ST MATTHEW PARISH (1561) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1570-1837
1570-1649, 1664-1796
1570-1647, 1662-1740, 1753-1986
FS 1570-1645, 1673-1830, 1836-1858
1570-1649, 1673-1760, 1766-1830, 1836-1847


NBI



1561-1932

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1646-1965 Mar 1663-1982 Bur 1662-1678, 1737-1985
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1673-1858 Mar 1673-1847 Bur 1673-1858 missing transcripts 1831/1835 all events

Walsall St Paul was formed 1875 from part of this parish

Walsall St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WALSALL ST PAUL PARISH (1904) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG

1904-1913


Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1874-1951 Mar 1875-1992 Bur no burial ground
Lichfield Record Office

St Andrew (Birchills) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ST ANDREW (BIRCHILLS) PARISH (1883) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1883-1897

1897-1900



Walsall St George parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WALSALL ST GEORGE PARISH (1878) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG

1878-1916



Walsall St Jude parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WALSALL ST JUDE PARISH (1914) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG

1914-1977



St Luke's Mission Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ST LUKE'S MISSION CHURCH (1879) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1901-1935






Walsall St Mark parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WALSALL ST MARK PARISH (1898) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1898-1972






St Mary & All Saints (Palfrey) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ST MARY & ALL SAINTS (PALFREY) PARISH (1901) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1931-1944






St Mary & All Saints (Caldmore) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ST MARY & ALL SAINTS (CALDMORE) PARISH (1871) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1933-1953






Non-Conformist Churches

Walsall Bath Street Nonconformist Burial Ground also known as St Matthew Burial ground registers of burials are available online for the following years:

WALSALL BATH STREET BURIAL GROUNDS (1756) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG



1756-1812
NBI



1756-1884

Walsall St Mary Roman Catholic parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WALSALL ST MARY ROMAN CATHOLIC  (1830) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1830-1853




NBI



1682-1837

Walsall St Patrick Roman Catholic parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WALSALL ST PATRICK ROMAN CATHOLIC (1856) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1856-1867
1857-1911


Walsall Ablewell St Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WALSALL ABLEWELL ST WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (1811) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1811-1866




Walsall Bridge St Independent Church registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WALSALL BRIDGE ST INDEPENDENT CHURCH (1786) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1786-1837




Walsall Caledon St Primitive Methodist Church registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WALSALL CALEDON ST PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHURCH (1852)  Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1852-1962




Walsall Unitarian Chapel Stafford St registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WALSALL UNITARIAN CHAPEL STAFFORD ST (1788) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1788-1837


1758-1777

Bloxwich Rd Wesleyan Methodist Chapel (Leamore) registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BLOXWICH RD WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (LEAMORE) (1863)  Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG

1967-1985



Bridge St. Congregational Church registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BRIDGE ST. CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH (1921)  Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1921-1944




Caledon St. Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

CALEDON ST. WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (1860)  Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1860-1921




Centenary Wesleyan Methodist Chapel - Stafford St. registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

CENTENARY WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL - STAFFORD ST. (1840)  Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1840-1863




Coal Pool Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COAL POOL WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (1852)  Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1852-1942




Dale St. Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

DALE ST. WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (1889)  Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1889-1977




Mellish Rd Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

MELLISH RD WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (1884)  Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1884-1950




Ryecroft Primitive Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

RYECROFT PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (1845)  Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1894-1957




Queen St Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

QUEEN ST WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (1870)  Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1870-1902




Shelfield Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SHELFIELD WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (1870)  Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1870-1932




Cemetery Records

Queen St Cemetery[3]

FREG has transcribed the following Burial Registers1857-1868

Rycroft Cemetery[3]

FREG has transcribed the following Burial Registers1894-1895

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474617.

Poor Law Unions

Walsall Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Walsall/index.html

References

  1. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  2. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 444-449. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 August 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  6. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 August 2014, at 14:57.
  • This page has been accessed 3,483 times.