Walsall Wood St John, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Walsall Wood St John, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Walsall Wood St John, Staffordshire
Walsall Wood St John Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Walsall PLU
Registration District Walsall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1835
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Walsall
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Walsall Wood [St John] is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1845 from Walsall [St Matthew] Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Shelfield, Walsall Wood and Sheffield, and Walsall and Shefield.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Walsall Wood St John was formed from Walsall St Matthew, Staffordshire EP in 1845

Walsall Wood St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
WALSALL WOOD ST JOHN PARISH (1829) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1877-1888
1890-1900

NBI

1829-1837

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1835-1967 Mar 1845-1960 Bur 1837-1912
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts No Holdings

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474617.

Poor Law Unions

Walsall Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,035 times.