Walton County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Walton County, Georgia)

United States Gotoarrow.png Georgia Gotoarrow.png Walton County

Guide to Walton County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records


Walton County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Walton County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 15, 1818
County Seat Monroe
Courthouse
Walton County, Georgia Courthouse.jpg
Address Walton County, Monroe, GA 30655-0585
Ph. 770.267.1301
Walton County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Walton County Courthouse
Monroe, GA 30655-0585
Ph: (770) 267-1301

Probate Court has marriage and probate records from 1819. Clerk Superior Court has land records from 1819 and divorce records from 1900. Magistrate Court has court records from 1900. County Health department has birth and death records from 1919.

Walton County Superior Court
303 S. Hammond Drive Suite 335
Monroe, GA 30655
Phone: (770) 267-1307
Fax: (770) 267-1304
E-mail: clerkofcourt@co.walton.ga.us

Walton County Probate Court
303 South Hammond Drive Suite 118,
Monroe, Georgia 30655


Beginning Dates for Walton County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate






History

Parent County

1818--Walton County was created 15 December 1818 from Creek Indian Lands.County seat: Monroe [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported loss or damage.[2]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Barrow County, Georgia  • Gwinnett County, Georgia  • Morgan County, Georgia  • Newton County, Georgia  • Oconee County, Georgia  • Rockdale County, Georgia

Walton CountyRockdale CountyMorgan CountyNewton CountyOconee CountyBarrow CountyGwinnett CountyFulton CountyForsyth CountyHall CountyJackson CountyMadison CountyClarke CountyOglethorpe CountyGreene CountyPutnam CountyJasper CountyButts CountyHenry CountyDeKalb CountyClayton CountyGAWalton.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Walton County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Walton County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Walton County, Georgia Genealogy:




- 9th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 11th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 16th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 42nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies G and H
- 64th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Walton County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • 1819-1839 - Digital Images of Walton County Wills and Estates 1819-1839 at Georgia Pioneers ($).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records

1828 - 1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $ 1699 - 1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $

  • 1825-1857 - Walton County Marriage Books B thru D Index 1825-1857. Batch M713901 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1857-1884 - Walton County Marriage Books A and E Index 1857-1884. Batch M713902 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1876-1895 - Walton County Marriage Books G thru I Index 1876-1895. Batch M713903 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1885-1886 - Walton County Marriages from Newspapers 1885-1886 at Georgia Pioneers ($).
Death Records

1919 - 1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry.com — index $

Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Walton County Historical Society
PO Box 1733
Monroe, GA 30655-6733
Phone: 770-267-6663
Historical Society of Walton County

East Georgia Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 117
Winder, GA 30680
East Georgia Genealogical Society


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America /,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 55-56. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 August 2015, at 20:40.
  • This page has been accessed 12,203 times.