Walton le Dale, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Walton le Dale, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Walton le Dale, Lancashire
St. Leonards, Walton le Dale Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Preston PLU
Registration District Preston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Blackburn
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

WALTON-LE-DALE, a township and chapelry, in the parish, and Lower division of the hundred, of Blackburn St Mary, Lancashire, union of Preston, N. division of Lancashire, 2 miles southeast of Preston. The chapel, dedicated to St. Leonard and was built by the year 1609. The church of St Leonard, situated on an eminence to the east of the town, was originally erected in the 11th century. The earliest portions of the present building are the Perpendicular chancel and tower, the nave having been rebuilt in 1798, while the transepts were erected in 1816. Other places in the parish include: Higher Walton and Cuerdale. [1]

Close to Walton-le-Dale on the River Ribble in 1840 at Cuerdale workmen found the Cuerdale Hoard, the largest Viking treasure discovered in Western Europe. The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Walton le Dale chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Blackburn to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk



WALTON-LE-DALE ST LEONARD Chapelry  (1609) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1609-1854, 1872-1889 1609-1637, 1654-1848 1809-1894
LOPC 1751-1760, 1807-1831, 1839-1854, 1871-1900 1751-1760, 1807-1812, 1815-1848 1751-1760, 1807-1812, 1815-1889
LBMD 1837-1974 None 1837-1974
JOIN 1813-1830
AC 1609-1812 1609-1812 1609-1812
BLACKBURN ST MARY THE VIRGIN PARISH (1600) Indexes (ancient parish containing WALTON-LE-DALE ST LEONARD Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1600-1910 1600-1704, 1720-1900 1720-1900
LOPC 1600-1611, 1614-1628, 1653-1848, 1854-1881 1600-1680, 1698-1705, 1722-1900 1651-1652, 1746-1900
LBMD 1837-1885 1837-1957 1837-1885
FMP None 1600-1705 None
AC 1600-1660 1600-1660 1600-1660


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Walton le Dale and comprising the whole ancient parish of Blackburn to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BLACKBURN ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306893.


Poor Law Unions

Preston Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, [A Topographical Dictionary of England] (1848), pp. 453-457. Adapted. Date accessed: 07 October 2013 .

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:28.
  • This page has been accessed 2,228 times.