Walton on Thames, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Surrey Gotoarrow.png Surrey Parishes

Walton on Thames, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Walton on Thames, Surrey
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elmbridge
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Chertsey PLU
Registration District Chertsey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1639
Bishop's Transcripts: 1717
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish history

WALTON-UPON-THAMES (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Chertsey, First division of the hundred of Elmbridge, W. division of Surrey, 3 miles (N. W.) from Esher, and 18 (S. W. by W.) from London. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

Resources

Church records

Online Walton on Thames, Surrey Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1639
1639
1639

Indexes 1594
1639-1796
1851
Ancestry[2] 1639-1754
(gaps)

Ancestry[3]



1797-1875 FamilySearch[4] 1754-1883 FamilySearch[5] 1639-1865 findmypast[6]

Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[7]

Census records

1841 Census returns for Walton on Thames are missing.


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 193490.

Taxation

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848)). Adapted. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  3. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 15 April 2012.
  4. Batch C040381, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  5. Batch M040381, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012.
  7. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:56.
  • This page has been accessed 1,573 times.