Walton on the Hill St Mary, Edge Hill, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Lancashire Gotoarrow.png  Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Walton on the Hill St Mary, Edge Hill, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

See a List of the Parishes and Chapelries in Walton-on the-Hill

Contents

Chapelry History

The chapelry of Walton-on-the-Hill St Mary. Edge Hill was created a chapel of ease in 1814 from, and lying within the boundaries of Walton on the Hill St Mary ancient parish.

WALTON-ON-THE-HILL (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of West Derby, S. division of Lancashire, 3 miles (N. by E.) from Liverpool, on the road to Preston. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Edge Hill chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Walton on the Hill to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


EDGE HILL ST MARY Chapelry  (1837) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1924-1951 1837-1947 None
WALTON ON THE HILL ST MARY THE VIRGIN PARISH (1586) Indexes (ancient parish containing EDGE HILL ST MARY Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1586-1903 1586-1918 1710-1970
LOPC 1792-1903 1791-1805, 1818-1869 1767-1812
LBMD None 1837-1977 None
FMP None 1586-1662 None
AC 1586-1746 1586-1746 1586-1746


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Edge Hill and comprising the whole ancient parish of Walton on the Hill to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WALTON ON THE HILL ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306905.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 453-457. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,827 times.