Walworth County, South DakotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  go to  South Dakota  go to  Walworth County
link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/South Dakota_Online_Genealogy_Records South Dakota
Online Records


Walworth County, South Dakota genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


Walworth County, South Dakota
Map
Map of South Dakota highlighting Walworth County
Location in the state of South Dakota
Map of the U.S. highlighting South Dakota
Location of South Dakota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 8, 1873
County Seat Selby
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Sdgwlogo2.gif This page adopted by:
SDGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Walworth Co. SDGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Walworth County Courthouse
PO Box 199
Selby, SD 57472-0199
Phone: 605.649.7878 

Register of Deeds has birth, death and burial records from 1905
and land records; County Treasurer has marriage records from 1889;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records from 1889, probate and court
records from 1892[1]

History

Parent County

  • 1873--Walworth County was created 8 January 1873 from Buffalo County.
    County seat: Selby [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Various Walworth County Cemeteries transcriptions which may include name of deceased, date of death and birth and parent or spousal information.

Census

  • 1940 census page missing: Selby, Walworth County, Enumeration District 65-9: Sheet 6B is missing from the microfilmed copy. After microfilming many years ago, the originals were destroyed.[3]

1905, 1915, 1925 State Censuses --Unique information could include: Ethnic Background, Maiden Name, Church Affiliation and Military Service

1905 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1915 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1925 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1935 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1945 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about South Dakota denominations, view the South Dakota Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran

St. John's Lutheran Church, Selby

  • Records of St. John's Lutheran Church, Selby, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Trinity Lutheran Church, Mobridge

  • Records of Trinity Lutheran Church, Mobridge, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Zion Lutheran Church, Lowry

  • Records of Zion Lutheran Church, Lowry, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See South Dakota Land and Property for additional information about early South Dakota land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Walworth County, South Dakota. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section South Dakota Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Walworth County, South Dakota newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in South Dakota, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for South Dakota, Walworth then click Probate records.

Taxation

South Dakota tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Walworth County, South Dakota, p.629
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. email Feb 13, 2014 to Connie Godak from Rebecca Sharp, Archives Specialist, A1 Research Support Branch, Customer Services Division. The email was subsequently forwarded to User:AdkinsWH

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:17.
  • This page has been accessed 2,824 times.