Warbleton, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes
Warbleton, Sussex
Warbleton St Mary East Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hawkesborough
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Hailsham PLU
Registration District Hailsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dallington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WARBLETON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Hailsham, hundred of Hawkesborough, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 12 miles (E. by S.) from Uckfield. The civil parish of Warbleton includes Rushlake Green and Bodle Street Green; and two hamlets, Warbleton and Three Cups. The church is in the early and later English styles, with an embattled tower: in the chancel is a fine brass monument of W. Prestwick, Dean of Battle, who is habited in his canonicals.[1]

A history of the church Warbleton St Mary

The Parish Church of St Mary Hammer Lane Warbleton has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Warbleton Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Warbleton Wikipedia

At Bodle Street Green a former chapelry of the parish developed; see Bodle Street Green St John

Bodle Street Green St John the Evangelist East Sussex.jpg

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see Hailsham registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex,The Register Office, Town Hall, Grove Road, Eastbourne
BN21 4UG Phone 01323 464780Fax 01323 431386 email eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Warbleton, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Warbleton, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1896
1813-1896 (gaps)

IGI 1559-1812 1559-1837



Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Warbleton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464158.

Poor Law Unions

Hailsham Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 461-464. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,145 times.