Warburton, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Warburton

Guide to Warburton, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Warburton, Cheshire
St Werburghs Church 3quarter.jpg
St Werburghs Church 3quarter
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Altrincham PLU
Registration District Altrincham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1611
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

WARBURTON (St. Werburgh), is a parish, in the union of Altrincham, hundred of Bucklow, North division of the county of Chester, 6½ miles (E. by N.) from Warrington. The rivers Mersey and Bollin run through the parish.[1]

St Werburgh's Church, Warburton is the name of two separate churches in the village of Warburton, Greater Manchester, England. The older church is located to the west of the village  and may date back as far as the middle of the 13th century. It is now a redundant church but services are held in the summer months. Pevsner calls this church "a lovable muddle".

The newer church was built in 1883–85 and is located to the southeast of the village and is an Ancient Parish church in the diocese of Chester, the archdeaconry of Macclesfield and the deanery of Bowdon. Its benefice is combined with that of St Peter, Oughtrington. It includes the hamlet of Moss Brow.

The dedication is an unusual one, ordinarily local to Chester, where Werburgh is the patron saint. Werburgh, an Anglo-Saxon saint who has given her name to Warburgtune, as Warburton was called in the Domesday survey (1086), was the daughter of Wulfhere, the first Christian king of Mercia.

There is evidence of a Saxon church on the site before the Norman Conquest. In 1187–90 Adam de Dutton founded a priory on the site for Norbertine canons. It is likely that the building of the present church began in the middle of the 13th century. By 1880 the church needed major repairs, and because of this the new church was built and the old church ceased to be the parish church.

In 1933 the boundary with Lancashire was adjusted to follow the course of the Manchester Ship Canal;since 1974 Warburton has been part of  Greater Manchester.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241235.

Church records

Warburton St Werburgh parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
Warburton St Werburgh Parish (1611) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1655-1837

FS PR's 1611-1909
  NONE
1605-1836
  NONE
1651-1832
  NONE
FS BT'S 1813-1876
  NONE
1813-1813
  NONE
1814-1870
  NONE
JOIN
1655-1836

PRTS
1655-1665, 1673-1836

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Warburton, 1611-1935 Cheshire Record Office call numbers: P68/1/1-6, 2, 3/1-2, 4, 6/1-3, P68/4577/1-2.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records (formerly Record Search)

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1611-1859. Banns, 1755-1812. Marriages, 1611-1836. Burials, 1611-1863. Tenants at church sitting, c. 1796. BRITISH
2105391 Items 7 - 17
Baptisms, 1859-1935. Burials, 1863-1932. BRITISH
2186839 Items 2 - 3

Bishop's transcripts for Warburton, 1813-1876 Bishop's transcripts for Warburton, 1813-1876

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts is available online in Family Search Historical records ( formerly Record Search)

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1813, baptisms, burials, 1814, 1873-1876, burials, 1870-1872, baptisms, 1869-1872. BRITISH
1647714 Item 7

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •  Altrincham (1837–98)
  • Bucklow (1898–1974)
  • Trafford (post 1974)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 16 April 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

Bibliography

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 375–376, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 339–341

Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, p. 186, ISBN 0 907768 18 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 October 2014, at 00:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,930 times.