Warden, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Warden, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Warden, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Isle of Sheppey Liberty
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sheppey PLU
Registration District Sheppey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1759
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sittingbourne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Warden St James is an Ancient Parish on the Isle of Sheppey.

Due to cliff erosion the site of the church now lies at sea by a few hundred yards and the remaining stone was removed to prevent a hazard to small craft. the parish was amalagamted with Eastchurch with Leysdown.

Resources

Civil Registration

Kent County Council

Registration Services
Invicta House
County Hall
Maidstone
Kent ME14 1XX Telephone 08458 247 400 http://www.kent.gov.uk are developing online search for all birth marriages and deaths as a result of a community volunteer effort. Not all events are capable of search but the index is updated annually. Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[1]
Warden, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1814-1884 1759-1872 1814-1869

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306871.

See Kent Census

Poor Law Unions

Sheppey Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

WARDEN (St. James), a parish, in the union, and within the liberty of the Isle, of Sheppy, Upper division of the lathe of Scray, E. division of Kent, 6¾ miles (E.) from Queenborough. Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.[2]

Websites

References

  1. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  2. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 461-464. Date accessed: 29 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 20:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,239 times.