Wardle St James, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Wardle St James, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wardle St James, Lancashire
Wardle Stj James redundant church contributor David Dixon.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Rochdale PLU
Registration District Rochdale
Records begin
Parish registers: 1858
Bishop's Transcripts: 1834
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochdale
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

WUERDLE, with Wardle, a township with a chapel, in the parish and union of Rochdale, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire, 2 miles north by east from Rochdale. A small part of the township is within the present boundary-line of the town of Rochdale. The ecclesiastical district of Smallbridge comprises the greater part of Wuerdle and Wardle. The Wesleyans and Baptists have places of worship. Wardle St James was created a chapelry by 1821 from, and lying within the boundaries of Rochdale St Chad, Lancashire Ancient Parish. The church became redundant and has been converted to residential apartments. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Wardle and Smallbridge chapelries' registers of christenings, marriages and burials (inside the jurisdiction of Wardle), along with those of the ancient parish of Rochdale to which they are attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
WARDLE WITH WUERDLE ST JAMES CHAPELRY (1859) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1858-1914

1859-1930

1858-1985
LBMD None 1859-1925 None
SMALLBRIDGE ST JOHN THE BAPTIST CHAPELRY (1834) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1834-1850 None 1848-1857
LBMD 1837-1901 1838-1925 1837-1901

ROCHDALE ST CHAD PARISH (1582) Indexes (ancient parish containing WARDLE & SMALLBRIDGE Chapelries)

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1582-1894 1582-1898  None
LOPC 1642-1835 1582-1898 1582-1837;1862-1896
LBMD None 1837-1940 None
AC  1582-1616 1701-1801 1582-1616


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Wardle and comprising the whole ancient parish of Rochdale to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ROCHDALE ST CHAD PARISH page.


Parish register transcripts, 1858-1879 Microfilm copy of original records filmed at the Area Central Library in Rochdale, England. Wardle is a chapelry in Rochdale parish.

Content
Film
Baptisms 1858-1879 Marriages 1858-1879 Burials 1858-1879 (Records extracted from Wardle Parish Magazine. Baptisms for 1874-1875 not transcribed.)
FHL BRITISH Film
1545494 Item 16


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306935.


Poor Law Unions

Rochdale Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 698-703. Adapted. Date accessed: 03 August 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,728 times.