Wardleworth St James, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Wardleworth St James, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wardleworth St James, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Rochdale PLU
Registration District Rochdale
Records begin
Parish registers: 1821
Bishop's Transcripts: 1758
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochdale
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

WARDLEWORTH St James, [or sometimes known as Hundersfield]. HUNDERSFIELD, a division, in the parish of Rochdale, partly in the union of Todmorden, but chiefly in that of Rochdale, hundred of Salford, S.division of Lancashire; comprising the four townships of Blatchinworth with Calderbrook, Todmorden withWalsden, Wardleworth, and Wuerdle with Wardle. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Wardleworth St James chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Rochdale St Chad to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


WARLDEWORTH ST JAMES CHAPELRY (1821) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1821-1874  1822-1860 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1937 None 1895-1937

ROCHDALE ST CHAD PARISH (1582) Indexes (ancient parish containing WARDLEWORTH ST JAMES Chapelry)

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1582-1894 1582-1898  None
LOPC 1642-1835 1582-1898 1582-1837;1862-1896
LBMD None 1837-1940 None
AC  1582-1616 1701-1801 1582-1616


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Wardleworth St James and comprising the whole ancient parish of Rochdale St Chad to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ROCHDALE ST CHAD PARISH page.


Parish registers, 1821-1873 Microfilm of original records in possession of the Manchester Public Libraries.Microfilm purchased from the Rochdale Central Library, Rochdale, Lancashire. St. James Wardleworth is an ecclesiastical district within Rochdale parish.

Content
Film
Baptisms 1821-1873
FHL BRITISH Film
1483552 Item 1
Marriages 1822-1862
FHL BRITISH Film
1483552 Item 2


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306935.


Poor Law Unions

Rochdale Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis , A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 580-583. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,274 times.