Wardleworth St Mary, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Wardleworth St Mary, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wardleworth St Mary, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Rochdale PLU
Registration District Rochdale
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1747
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochdale
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

HUNDERSFIELD [or, sometimes called Wardleworth St Mary], a division of Rochdale parish, Lancashire. It comprises the township of Wardleworth, the township of Wuerdle-with-Wardle, the township of Blatchinworth-with-Calderbrook, and the Whitworth and Brandwood portions of the township of Spotland. A parochial chapelry in Wardleworth is called sometimes Hundersfield, and sometimes Wardleworth-St. Mary. This was constituted in 1844, and lies within Rochdale borough. The church was built in 1740, as a chapel of ease. The name Hundersfield is a corruption of Honorsfield; and that was derived from the word Honore, signifying a Saxon lord.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Wardleworth St Mary chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Rochdale St Chad to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
WARDLEWORTH ST MARY CHAPELRY (1700) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1827-1914 1850-1930 1827-1855
FS

1700-1734, 1749-1780, 1783-1789, 1791-1798, 1812-1873

1749-1776, 1791-1870 1673-1855
LBMD 1837-1940 1859-1925 1837-1953

ROCHDALE ST CHAD PARISH (1582) Indexes (ancient parish containing WARDLEWORTH ST MARY Chapelry)

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1582-1894 1582-1898  None
LOPC 1642-1835 1582-1898 1582-1837;1862-1896
LBMD None 1837-1940 None
AC  1582-1616 1701-1801 1582-1616


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Wardleworth St Mary and comprising the whole ancient parish of Rochdale St Chad to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ROCHDALE ST CHAD PARISH page.


Parish registers 1827-1870, churchwarden's accounts, and vestry minutes Microfilm of original records in possession of the Manchester Public Libraries. Microfilm purchased from the Rochdale Central Library, Rochdale, Lancashire.
St. Mary's Wardleworth is an ecclesiastical district within Rochdale parish. It is sometimes called Hundersfield.

Content
Film
Baptisms and burials 1827-1829
FHL BRITISH Film
1483553 Item 1
Baptisms and burials 1841-1852
FHL BRITISH Film
1483553 Item 2
Baptisms 1828-1848
FHL BRITISH Film
1483553 Item 3
Marriages 1850-1870
FHL BRITISH Film
1483553 Item 4
Burials 1828-1855
FHL BRITISH Film
1483553 Item 5


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306935.


Poor Law Unions

Rochdale Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales published in 1870-72

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,753 times.