Ware, HertfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Parishes

Guide to Ware, Hertfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ware, Hertfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Braughin
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Ware PLU
Registration District Ware
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; For more records see Thundridge
Bishop's Transcripts: 1801
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ware
Diocese Pre-1845 - London; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Ware, is a town, a parish, a sub-district, and a district in Hertfordshire. The town stands on the river Lea, and on the Eastern Counties railway; it is 2 1/2 miles ENE of Hertford. The parish includes Wareside hamlet. The places of worship in 1851 were Church of England, Independents, Quakers, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, Lady Huntingond's Connexion, a Catholic and Apostlic church as well as Roman Catholics.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ware, Hertfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
Ware, Hertfordshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1858-1886


BOYD
1558-1754

FMP 1558-1910 1558-1910 1558-1922 1558-1922 1558-1950 1558-1950
HERTS To 1837
IGI 1558-1882 1558-1754, 1813-1837
JOIN
1558-1837

NBI

1800-1851

Ware Christchurch parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Ware Christchurch Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1886-1910 1886-1910 1858-1901 1858-1901


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288825.

Genealogy from Periodicals 

Gibbins, Keith.  Windus of Ware and East London.  Article has a Family tree of Windus of Ware Hertfordshire, and East London with a history of the family.  Article covers years 1710-1880, and is to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian, Vol.VIII, no.1. May 1981, pages 4-7, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ware on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 20 December 2013. Baptisms 1880-1882 not labelled with a saint's dedication; 1858-1886 Christ Church.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' findmypast, accessed 4 March 2014.
  5. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  7. Hertfordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 12 December 2013.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,456 times.