Ware Parish, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  Ware Parish
Warechurch.jpg

Contents

History

Ware Parish has served Gloucester County, Virginia.

Founded

Resources

Warechurchentrance.jpg

Cemetery

The Virginia State Library published a survey of the graves at Ware Church Cemetery in 1959.[2] FHL Book 975.53 V3e (pages 70 to 92).

More than 600 graves at the parish cemetery are described at Find A Grave.

Parish History

Meade's 1861 history of Ware Parish is available online.[3]

  • Jones, Spotswood Hunnicutt. The World of Ware Parish in Gloucester County, Virginia. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, 1991. ISBN 0-87517-063-3. Library of Congress Number: 91-91176

Rev. William Byrd Lee's history of Ware Church, Gloucester County, Virginia (1907) has been digitized by Google Books.[4]

Abingdon and Ware Parish reports:[5]

Parish Records

Colonial parish registers have been lost.

Websites

References

  1. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  2. Epitaphs of Gloucester and Mathews Counties in Tidewater Virginia through 1865 (Richmond, Va.: Virginia State Library, 1959).
  3. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  4. Colonial Churches: A Series of Sketches of Churches in the Original Colony of Virginia (Richmond, Va.: Southern Churchman Co., 1907), 216-229.
  5. Francis Lister Hawks, A Narrative of Events Connected with the Rise and Progress of the Protestant Episcopal Church in Virginia: To Which is Added an Appendix, Containing the Journals of the Conventions in Virginia from the Commencement to the Present Time (New York: Harper and Brothers, 1836). Digital version at Google Books.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 5,129 times.