Warkworth, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Warkworth, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Warkworth, Northumberland
Warkworth Northumberland St Lawrence.JPG
Warkworth Northumberland St Lawrence
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coquetdale; Morpeth
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Alnwick PLU
Registration District Alnwick; Morpeth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1676
Bishop's Transcripts: 1760
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alnwick
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WARKWORTH (St. Lawrence), an ancient borough and a parish, in the union of Alnwick, partly in the E. division of Coquetdale, and partly in the E. division of Morpeth, ward, N. division of Northumberland, 7 miles (S. E.) from Alnwick. The parish comprises the townships of Amble, Acklington, Acklington-Park, Birling, Brotherwick, Bullock's-Hall, High and Low Buston, East and West Chevington. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Scottish Seceders.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Warkworth, Northumberland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
WARKWORTH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/262 1760-1844 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Warkworth, St Laurence: Records of baptisms 1690-1972, marriages 1687-1974 and burials 1676-1927 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1677-1812 and marriages 1685-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1677-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1690-1812, marriages 1686-1812, burials 1677-1812 and baptisms of nonconformists 1723-1824 are available in the Local Studies Departments of Newcastle Central Library and Gateshead Central Library. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Warkworth Church & churchyard (microfiche TN95) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438893.

Poor Law Unions

Alnwick Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 13 August 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 16:26.
  • This page has been accessed 695 times.