Warleggan, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Warleggan, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Warleggan, Cornwall
Warleggan StBartholomew contributor Rod Allday.jpg
Warleggan StBartholomew contributor Rod Allday
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Bodmin PLU
Registration District Bodmin
Records begin
Parish registers: 1548
Bishop's Transcripts: 1614
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery West
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WARLEGGON (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Bodmin, hundred of West, E. division of Cornwall, 5¾ miles (E. N, E.) from Bodmin. [1] The church can be found on the OS maps at grid number 157691, and a well-maintained cemetery is at the church.  The Cornwall Family History Society has published a listing of the monumental inscriptions.
Warleggon/Warleggan, (Cornish: Gorlegan) St Bartholomew is an ancient parish in the county of Cornwall.  It is a sparsely populated parish with the census enumerations from 1801-1911 listing between 116-301 persons, currently at about 200 inhabitants.  There is a small cluster of homes near the church, but the more part of the inhabitants live at Mount Village, about 2 km to the southwest of the church.  A war memorial of genealogical interest is adjacent to the former post office at Mount Cross.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.  Warleggan was in the Bodmin Civil Registration District from the inception of civil registration in 1837 until 30 June 1936.  Since 1 July 1936, Warleggan has been in the Liskeard Civil Registration District.

Church records

Warleggan, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[11]
Warleggan, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1547-1812


COPC 1682-1904
1547-1913
1650-1911
FMP 1538-1875
1548-1836
1813-1837
FREG 1547-1719, 1813-1904
1547-1897
1547-1719, 1813-1960
FS PRs
1547-1904
1547-1897
1547-1960
IGI 1548-1875
1547-1837


PALL

1790-1812


TGEN 1720-1856
1547-1845

Parish registers are held in the collection at the Cornwall Records Office in Truro and can be viewed there by appointment.  Many have been filmed by the GSU and the FamilySearch Catalog shows the film numbers in their collection.

Most of the parish registers have also been transcribed and that information can be viewed on the database of the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks. Due to privacy concerns, the COPC does not publish the transcriptions of the more recent events (less that 100 years for most events) on the website, but the OPC for Warleggan can be contacted directly through their website, and he will provide that information without cost as time permits. The Cornwall Family History Society has some transcripts of these records that can be purchased in PDF, CD, or booklet form.

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 247. 

A significant part of the inhabitants are and have been non-conformist, primarily Wesleyan Methodist and Bible Christian.  Jurisdictions do not coincide with those of the Chruch of England, and records will be found primarily in the circuits of Bodmin and Liskeard.  A Methodist chapel is in Warleggan Parish, but many religious events took place in the chapels at Cardinham and St Neot.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241274.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Neighboring Parishes

When an event such as baptism, marriage, or burial is not found in the registers of the parish where it might be expected to be recorded, it may often be found in a neighboring parish, particularly a marriage when one of the parties was from a nearby parish. Beginning on the north and moving clockwise around the boundaries of the parish are the ecclesiastical parishes of Temple, St Neot, Braddoc (Broad Oak) and Cardinham. 

Poor Law Unions

Bodmin Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Warleggan is on the current Ordinance Survey Explorer Map 109 "Bodmin Moor."  Reproductions of historical maps are also available.  The Cassini Historical Map (1900) and Old Series (1813) split the parish between the "Newquay and Bodmin" (map 200) and "Plymouth and Launceston" (map 201) maps, which match the current OS Landranger maps.

Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Warleggan in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 464-470. Date accessed: 23 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  11. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 22 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,146 times.