Warmingham, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Warmingham, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Warmingham, Cheshire
St Leonard's Church, Warmingham Cheshire.jpg
St Leonard's Church, Warmingham Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Northwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Nantwich PLU
Registration District Congleton; Nantwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1570's
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Middlewich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WARMINGHAM (St. Leonard), is a parish, partly in the union of Nantwich, but chiefly in that of Congleton, hundred of Northwich, South division of the county of Chester; containing, with the townships of Elton, Moston, and Tetton, 3½ miles (W.) from Sandbach. The Trent and Mersey canal, and the Liverpool and Birmingham railway, pass through the parish.[1]

Warmingham, St Leonard's is an Ancient Parish in Cheshire and includes Elton, Tetton and Moston. 

Warmingham is a village  and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire East and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. The village lies 3¼ miles to the north of Crewe and 3¼ miles to the west of Sandbach. The parish also includes the settlement of Lane Ends. Nearby villages include Minshull Vernon. St Leonard's Church and the Bear Paw public house are in Warmingham village.

Warmingham was a township in Warmingham Parish, Northwich Hundred, which became a civil parish in 1866. In 1936 part of Warmingham was added to Monks Coppenhall and includes the hamlet of Lane Ends.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241251.

Church records

Warmingham St Leonard registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
Warmingham St Leonard Parish (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1538-1857
  NONE
1538-1907
  NONE
1538-1877
  NONE
FS BT'S 1600-1881
  NONE
1600-1837
  NONE
1600-1877
  NONE
FMP (£)


1813-1877
1813-1877
NBI

1813-1877

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Warmingham, Cheshire, 1538-1909 Cheshire Record Office call number: P211/1/1-3, P211/2, P211/3/13, P211/4.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online  at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1538-1746. BRITISH 2106690 Items 10 - 11
Baptisms, 1746-1857. Marriages, 1746-1907. Burials, 1746-1877. BRITISH 2106691 Items 1 - 7

Bishop's transcripts for Warmingham, [157-?]-1881 Records are not in strict chronological order. Some intermittent years are missing. Cheshire Record Office number: ECC/210

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s transcripts is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600, 1604, 1607-1611, 1613-1614, 1617-1620, 1624-1630, 1635, 1663-1814, 1816-1832, 1834-1837. Burials, 1658-1660. Baptisms, burials, 1838-1867, 1877-1881. BRITISH
1551110 Item 1
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  •  Congleton (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire East (post 1998) The post 2009 reorganisation of civil registration can be found online at Cheshire BMD

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Warmingham on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England. Date Accessed: 16 April 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.

Bibliography

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 376, ISBN 0 300 09588 0
Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, pp. 186–187, ISBN 0 907768 18 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 21:13.
  • This page has been accessed 2,699 times.