Warren County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Warren County
Guide to Warren County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Warren County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 19, 1793 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Warrenton |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Warren County Courthouse] 100 Warren Street Warrenton, GA 30828 Phone: 706.465.2262 Warren County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Warren County Courthouse
100 Warren Street
Warrenton, GA 30828
Phone: 706.465.2262
Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records;
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records[1]
History
Parent County
1793--Warren County was created 19 December 1793 from Columbia, Richmond, Wilkes and Hancock Counties.
County seat: Warrenton [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1909 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Genealogy
- Origins of Early Settlers to Warren County at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- Origins of Early Settlers to Warren County at Georgia Pioneers ($).
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Maps
- Warren County Map at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- Warren County Map at Georgia Pioneers ($).
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Wills
- 1793-1811 - List of Warren County Wills 1793-1811 at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1793-1811 - Digital Images of Wills. See names of testators. Pioneers ($)
- 1793-1811 - List of Warren County Wills 1793-1811 at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1793-1829 - Digital Images of Warren County Will Book A (1793-1811) and Will Book B (1810-1829) at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1810-1829 - Digital Images of Wills. See names of testators. [http://www.georgiapioneers.com/counties/countywarren.html Georgia Pioneers. ($)
- 1829-1852 - Digital Images of Wills. See names of testators. [http://www.georgiapioneers.com/counties/countywarren.html Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1793-1829 - Digital Images of Warren County Will Book A (1793-1811) and Will Book B (1810-1829) at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1810-1852 - Indexes to Warren County Will Book A (1810-1829) and Will Book B (1829-1852) at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1810-1852 - Indexes to Warren County Will Book A (1810-1829) and Will Book B (1829-1852) at Georgia Pioneers ($).
Additional Probate Records
- 1797-1807 - Index of Warren County Estates, Wills, Letters of Administration at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1797-1807 - Index of Warren County Estates, Wills, Letters of Administration at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1811-1826 - Index to Warren County Annual Returns Book B (1811-1826) at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1810-1829 - Index to Warren County Will Book B Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1829-1952 - Index to Warren County Wills Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1811-1826 - Index to Warren County Annual Returns Book B (1811-1826) at Georgia Pioneers ($).
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Marriage
- 1794-1835 - Warren County Marriage Index 1794-1835. Batch M713911 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1794-1805 - Warren County Marriages 1794-1805 at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1833-1874 - Warren County Marriage Index 1833-1874. Batch M713912 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1875-1888 - Warren County Marriage Index 1875-1888. Batch M713913 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1888-1895 - Warren County Marriage Index 1888-1895. Batch M713914 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- Warren County Marriage Contracts found in Deeds and Other Documents at Georgia Pioneers ($).
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Warren County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers ($).
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Warren County, Georgia. Page 161 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 10 May 2013, at 22:04.
- This page has been accessed 1,879 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
