Warren County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Warren County

Guide to Warren County Iowa genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Buxton Park Gazebo and Arboretum located in Indianola, Warren County, Iowa

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records





Warren County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Warren County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 13, 1846
County Seat Indianola
Courthouse
Address
Warren County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

History

Parent County

1846--Warren County was created 13 January 1846 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Mahaska County prior to organization 10 February 1849. County seat: Indianola [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss


Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Clarke • Dallas • Lucas • Madison • Marion • Polk

Warren CountyMarion CountyMonroe CountyLucas CountyClarke CountyUnion CountyMadison CountyDallas CountyPolk CountyJasper CountyMahaska CountyAppanoose CountyWayne CountyDecatur CountyRinggold CountyAdair CountyGuthrie CountyGreene CountyBoone CountyStory CountyMarshall CountyIAWarren.JPG

Resources

Biographies

  • All of the family biographies from the History of Warren County, Iowa (1879) by Union Historical Company are available free online at My Genealogy Hound.

Cemeteries

Census

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

Lutheran
  • Records of the St. Paul Lutheran Church, Martensdale, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Directories

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories 

Local histories are available for Warren County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War



Regiments. Service men in Warren County, Iowa served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Warren County, Iowa:

- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
- 10th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies B and G
- 15th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 48th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company A
- 10th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
:- 10th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
:- 15th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
:- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
:- 1st Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company D
:- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
:- 48th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company A

Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Warren - Probate records.

Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Vital Records 

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:41.
  • This page has been accessed 8,828 times.