Warren County, MississippiEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png  Mississippi Gotoarrow.png  Warren County

Guide to Warren County Mississippi genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Mississippi
Online Records


Warren County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Warren County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 22 December, 1809
County Seat Wicksburg
Courthouse
Address Warren County Courthouse
PO Box 351;
Wicksburg, MS 39181-0351
Phone: 601.636.4415
Warren County Courthouse]

Contents

County Courthouse

Warren County Courthouse
PO Box 351;
Wicksburg, MS 39181-0351
Phone: 601.636.4415

Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate and land records. Clerk Circuit has marriage records. [1]

Beginning Dates for Warren County, Mississippi Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate






History

Parent County

1809--Warren County was created 22 December 1809 from the Natchez District.
County seat: Vicksburg [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Mississippi counties see: Mississippi Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Parker Cemetery, Vicksburg BillionGraves

Census

For tips on accessing Warren County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page. LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Vicksburg

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Warren County, Mississippi. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War
  • Men from Warren County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Warren County.
- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company F - Hill City Cadets
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Light Artillery
Company G - Cowan’s Battery
- 2nd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry [became the 48th Regiment, Missippi Infantry]
Company - King Cotton Guards
- 48th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry [from the 2nd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry]
Company E - King Cotton Guards
Company G - Jefferson Davis Guards, Jeff Davis Guards, & aka Manlove’s Company
Company H - Vicksburg Volunteers
- 9th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (New)
Company E - Vicksburg Cadets [formerly Hill City Cadets, Co. F, 10th MS Infantry]
- 12th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company G - Vicksburg Sharpshooters [also listed as Co. E
Civil War Battles

The following Civil War Battles were fought in Warren County

Map showing Civil war battles in Mississippi.

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Warren County, Mississippi newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Warren County, Mississippi page 383, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012)
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012)
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f2/Igimississippip.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2014, at 17:36.
  • This page has been accessed 7,062 times.