Warren County, New YorkEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
New York
Warren County
Guide to Warren County New York genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, military, immigration and naturalization records. This page describes sources of genealogical data about Warren County, New York families, including links to smaller localities in the county. New York-related pages show useful statewide sources. United States pages explain the terminology and contents of genealogical records.
| Warren County, New York | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of New York | |
![]() Location of New York in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | 1813 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Queensbury |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy Daniel Case | |
| Address | 1340 State Route 9 Lake George, NY 12845 Warren County Website |
Warren County New York Historical Facts
Parent County
12 March 1813: Warren County was created from part of Washington County.[1]
Neighboring Counties
Essex · Hamilton · Saratoga · Washington[2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Warren County New York Genealogy Resources
Bible Records
- 1581–1917 New York, Family Bible Records at Ancestry– ($); Index. Database is a collection of genealogically important records taken from the Bibles of colony and state residents. Reveals the Bible's original owner, brief record of descendants,and a particular event such as birth or marriage as recorded in Bible.
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Findagrave.com* | Family History Library* | Findagrave.com* |
| Interment.net* | WorldCat* | Tombstone Transcription Project* |
| Cemetery Site* | NYGenWeb Cemeteries* | |
| New York Gravestones* | epodunk* | |
| NYGenWeb Cemeteries* | Billion Graves* | |
| Billion Graves* | Names in Stone* | |
| Names in Stone* | ||
| Linkpendium* | ||
| Ancestry* | ||
| *See the New York Cemeteries page for details about each site. | ||
BillionGraves: Google map, headstone photos, transcriptions.
Census
For information and tips on using and accessing online census records, see New York Census.
Federal
U.S. Census Mortality Schedules for New York, 1850-1880:
- Available online at Ancestry ($).
- Deaths are included for the 12 months prior to the census, 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, and 1879-80 beginning 1 June and ending 31 May of the census year.[3]
- Basic contents of the records include: Name, sex, age, color, marital status, place of birth, month of death, occupation, and cause of death. 1870 also has parents' birthplace. 1880 lists how long a resident of the county.
- Also on FHL Films 1415128–42 which can be ordered through any Family History Center.
- The 1890 Census is lost. For a substitute, see directories.
State
| Source | 1825 | 1835 | 1845 | 1855 | 1865 | 1875 | 1892 | 1905 | 1915 | 1925 |
| Ancestry.com | - | - | - | - | - | - | Yes & Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Family History Library Films | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| FamilySearch Images | - | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | - | - |
| New York State Library Films | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
New York State 1865 and 1875 Census Marriage, Mortality; and 1865 Soldier Mortality records:
- Images available online at New York State Census, 1865 and New York State Census, 1875. Click on the link to go to the page, then click on the ‘Browse through images’ link and select your county, then select an ancestor's town and browse to the end of the population schedule until you find the Marriage, Mortality, and 1865 soldier mortality schedules.
- Includes marriages and deaths for the 12 months prior to the census, ending 1 June of the census year.
- Marriage entry content: Husband's name, wife's name, ages and previous marital status, month and day and place of marriage, and church or civil ceremony.
- Death entry content: Name, age, sex, color, marital status, month and day of death, native state or country, occupation and cause of death.
- 1865 deaths of officers and enlisted men entry content: Name, age, marital status, citizenship status, enlistment date, original regiment, original rank, regiment at death, rank at death, promotions, death date and place, manner of death, surviving associates, and burial place.
- Also on microfilm. See the Family History Library line in the above State Census Chart. These can be ordered through any Family History Center.
Church Records
Church records are good substitutes for birth, marriage, and death information and are most often found on a local city/town or county level. Published and manuscript church records can be found at public, university, and private libraries.
For a brief general history of denominations and a guide to finding various New York denomination's records, see New York Church Records Wiki page.
Ann Mensch's Local Catholic Church and Family History & Genealogical Research Guide is a free online resource that identifies the parishes of Warren County, years parishes were created, contact information, as well as links to online records and research tips. Warren County parishes fall under the jurisdiction of the Diocese of Albany.
Additional Church Records
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Warren County, New York Church Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Court Records
Ancestors may have also been involved in municipal, state, or federal court cases. See also New York Court Records and United States Court Records.
- Miscellaneous records of Warren County, New York FHL Film 474184. Includes Land and Property records, Court records, Widow pensions, and Civil Records.
Crime and Criminals
Directories
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
- Rootsweb message board for Warren County, New York has many information threads about families that resided in that county. There is a search engine that allows you to search by surname and topic.
History
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See New York Land and Property for more details, especially about the papers generated in New York State by large speculative land companies.
Original land records in Warren County, New York began in [?dateyear?]. These records are housed at the [?repository?] in [?town?].
Online
Microforms
Books
Additional land records can sometimes be found using these catalogs:
- WorldCat using the search phase: Warren County, New York deeds. (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog.)
- Family History Library Catalog using the search phrase: 1, New York - Land and Property. (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search.)
- Miscellaneous records of Warren County, New York FHL Film 474184. Includes Land and Property records, Court records, Widow pensions, and Civil Records.
- 1739-1802 - Landholders of Northeastern New York 1739-1802, courtesy: Ancestry ($); World Vital Records ($)
Additional resources
Additional resources for Warren County, New York land records may be found in the Warren County, New York – Land Records topic page of the Family History Library Catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Maps
Migration
Military
- Miscellaneous records of Warren County, New York FHL Film 474184. Includes Land and Property records, Court records, Widow pensions, and Civil Records.
Civil War
Town registers. The New York town clerks kept a bound register of all soldiers from their town serving in the Civil War 1861-1865. Registers are arranged by county, and town. Some town registers are missing. The registers include an index at the start of each town.
Content. Many register entries include full name, residence, date and place of birth, parents names, marital status, date of enlistment and muster and rank, discharges, death, or promotion.
Access. The original registers are at the New York State Archives in Albany, New York. Microfilm copies are found at the Family History Library (FHL Film 1993401-37) and can be ordered for viewing at your local Family History Center. They are also indexed and available at Ancestry.com ($).
Available towns. Registers are available for: Bolton · Caldwell · Chester · Hague · Horicon · Johnsburg · Lake Luzerne · Queensbury · Stony Creek · Thurman · Warrensburg.
Regiments. Service men in Warren County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county.[4]
- - 118th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 153rd Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 175th Regiment, New York Infantry
Naturalization and Citizenship
The Warren County New York Government Website has online descriptions of naturalization records found at the county archive.
Newspapers
Obituaries
Periodicals
Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.
Probate Records
Probate records including original estates and wills for New York are held in the office of the Warren County, New York County Surrogate Court beginning in 1787, or when the county was formed. Prior to 1787, most are housed at the New York State Archives. See New York Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distribution.
Probate Petitions
In 1830, state law required the Surrogate Court clerk to issue a probate petition for a deceased individual with property. This petition, unique to New York, usually lists the deceased's death date. It also lists the heirs, their relationship to the deceased, and their residence. [5] [6]
These petitions are often found in the estate files and can be obtained from the Warren County Surrogate Court.
The petitions for Warren County, New York are also available on microfilm at the Family History Library and its centers:
- 1813–1955 Listed as "Estate records, No. 1–13, 353; book of wills" FHL Film 441867 (203 films) First film is an index to Estate records.
Online Probate Abstracts and Indexes
- 1787-1835 Abstracts of Wills, Administrations and Guardianships in NY State, 1787 - 1835 at New York Ancestors ($); includes Warren County, New York.[7]
- 1813-1920 - SAMPUBCO Browsable index of testators of wills.
- 1821-1858 - Warren County Book of Dower 1821-1858, courtesy: Warren County Records Storage Center Archives.
Online Probate Records
Original county-by-county New York, Probate Records, 1629-1971 are available free online at FamilySearch. To access these records, click Historical Records below, then click "Browse through 1,630,900 images". Then select the county name, and then the probate records and time of interest.
- Historical Records - Warren County: Estate records 1941-1955; Judicial settlements, Sales 1885-1953; Letters of administration 1894-1918; Letters of administration, Letters of testamentary 1830-1894; Letters of guardianship 1815-1850; Letters of testamentary 1894-1918; Microfilm index; Wills 1810-1952; Wills and Proceedings index 1813-1935
Probate Records on Microfilm
The probate records described above also may be among those on microfilm including:
- W. David Samuelson, Warren County, New York Will Testators Index, 1813–1920 (Salt Lake City, Utah: Sampubco, 1996). At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Fiche 6002839; Film 2055179 item 10; Book 974.751 P22s.
- 1813–1920 Wills FHL Film 1510338 (5 films)
- 1830–1919 Letters of administration and testamentary FHL Film 1510342 (3 films)
- Estate records, No. 1–13,353; Book of wills FHL Film 441867 (203 films)
Additional Probate Indexes and Abstracts
Additional probate indexes or abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Warren County, New York probate wills in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Repositories
Cornell University, Guide to Historical Resources in Warren County, New York Repositories. ([Ithaca, New York]: New York Historical Resources Center, Olin Library, Cornell University, 1982). At various libraries; FHL Book 974.751 A3g. Includes index. Includes references to some family histories and genealogies.
Archives, Libraries, and Museums
|
Southern Adirondack Library System |
Warren County is a part of the Southern Adirondack Library System which includes Hamilton, Saratoga, Warren, and Washington Counties. Check local towns and villiages for public libraries available in the community. |
|
Record Storage Center and Archives |
Genealogical Resources: Their collection includes but not limited to: Affidavits, Almshouse Records, Assessment and Tax Rolls, Bastardy Papers, Bonds and Undertakings, Book of Dower, Book of Wills, Estate Records, Cases on Appeal, Census Records, Civil Actions, Common Pleas Actions, Correspondence - County Clerk, Criminal Indictments, Deeds, Divorce Actions, Jail Records, Judgment Records, Jury Lists, Maps, Marriage Records, Military Records, Naturalization, School District Records, Supreme Court Actions, Survey Papers, Town Records, etc. |
County Historian's Office
|
Warren County Historian |
Genealogical Resources: The County Historian may provide access to obituaries, vital records, church records, maps, and family files or journals. Some historians provide search services for their office records and others may refer you to local genealogists who research in the area. The Warren County Historian has Cemetery transcriptions for various cemeteries in the county online. The 1855 Census transcripts for towns of Bolton, Caldwell, Horicon, and Queensbury 1 online. |
Courthouses
The Warren County Clerk's office has divorce, court, land, military and naturalization records as well as the state census. The Surrogate Court has probate records. For further information about where the records for Warren County are held, see the Warren County Courthouses page.
Family History Centers
Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.
The main FHC for Warren County, New York is the Gloversville New York Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.
Societies
Northeastern New York Genealogical Society
PO Box 4264
Queensbury, NY 12804-1422
Email: Robert and Barbara Green – rgbkg@capital.net; John Austin – jaqby@adelphia.neg
Central New York Genealogical Society[8]
Box 104, Calvin Station
Syracuse, New York 13205
E-mail: CNYSG@yahoo.com
- Member queries; surname research list; online resources; six meetings/year; publishes Tree Talks (At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 B2t) quarterly with annual index.
- Counties served: Albany, Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Clinton, Columbia, Cortland, Delaware, Erie, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orange, Oreleans, Oswego, Otsego, Rensselaer, St. Lawrence, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Wyoming, and Yates.
Warren County Historical Society
195 Sunnyside Road
Queensbury, NY 12804–7762
Phone: 518–743–0734
Email: msil@warrencountyhistoricalsociety.org
Hours: The library is open on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 9:00AM – 5:00PM with research assistance available.
Collections: The Warren County Historical Society’s research library includes volumes covering United States History, New York State History and Local Histories. There are collective histories for each of the eleven towns in Warren County in addition to the City of Glens Falls. One section of the library is devoted to family history and includes surname files.
Social Groups Online
- Warren County Historical Society - Facebook.
- New York Genealogy Research Community (FamilySearch on Facebook)
Taxation
Town Records
Town records in New York may include early births, marriages, deaths, divorces, local histories, selected military records, and town meeting minutes. For further details, try the links to individual town Wiki pages found in Places. See also:
- Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). NEHGS online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists.
Vital Records
Vital records of birth, marriage or death were first recorded at the local level in the village clerk, town clerk, or city clerk’s ledger book. If you know where a birth, marriage or death took place, a copy of the certificate or record may be obtained by writing to the town, village or city clerk.
See the heading Places on this wiki page for links to local community wiki pages and their available records. See New York Vital Records for a discussion about beginning dates and availability of vital records in New York.
Use substitute records for birth, marriage, and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.
- Miscellaneous records of Warren County, New York FHL Film 474184. Includes Land and Property records, Court records, Widow pensions, and Civil Records.
Birth
Early births were recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) The New York State Department of Health (state level) began recording births in 1881. Births were not recorded on the county level.
Birth Substitutes
- 1640–1962 New York Births and Christenings, 1640-1962 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index.
- 1813-1913 Bastardy Papers at Warren County Records Center - free.
- See Town Clerks' Registers of Men who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for birth information.
Marriage
Early marriages were sometimes recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) In 1880, town clerks were to record the marriage and a copy was sent to the New York State Department of Health (state level). Town clerks continue to record marriages. Marriages were recorded by the Warren County clerk starting in 1908 and go until 1935.
- 1664–1784 New York. Secretary of State, Names of Persons for Whom Marriage Licenses Were Issued By the Secretary of the Province of New York, Previous to 1784 (Albany, New York: Weed, Parsons and Co., 1860). At Cornell University digital library-free; Internet Archive - free; Ancestry edition($); At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Film 514675 Item 1 or 930131 Item 2. Marriage bonds issued in the State of New York prior to 1784, and the earliest record dating 1664.
- 1908–1927 New York, County Marriages 1908–1935 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; FHL Film 1029725(first of 10 films); FHL Film 473327(first of 2 films). Marriage license index on film goes to 1935.
Marriage Substitutes
- 1686-1980 New York Marriages, 1686–1890 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index. Index entries derived from digital copies of original and compiled records.
- 1800–1855 New York Marriage Notices at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage notices published in newspapers around the state. Contains name of bride and groom, marriage date, marriage location, residence, and newspaper found in.
- 1801–1880 Barber Collection- Newspaper Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. Information extracted from the "Brooklyn Eagle" and the "New York Evening Post."
- 1856–1863 Index to Marriages and Deaths in the New York Herald at Ancestry– ($); Index. These newspaper notices refer to people up and down the East Coast as well as midwesterners and persons from as far west as the State of California. Also browseable.
- 1864-5, 1874-5 See Marriage Schedule information in the State Census section of Census for marriage information for 1864-5, and 1874-5.
Divorce
|
Pre–1787 |
All divorces were granted by the governor or legislature and were very rare. |
|
1787–1847 |
All divorces were granted by the court of chancery. These records are found in the New York State Archives or for the New York City area at the New York County Clerk's office.These divorces were granted only on the grounds of adultery. |
|
1847–present |
All divorces are handled by the county Supreme Court where the divorce was granted. Divorce files in New York are sealed for 100 years. Contact the County Clerk for information about divorce records. |
Divorce judgment papers often include date and place of the marriage and the names and birthdates of any children. Local newspapers may publish notices of divorce actions.
Death
Early deaths were recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) The New York State Department of Health (state level) began recording deaths in 1881. Deaths were not recorded on the county level.
Death Substitutes
- 1795–1952 New York Deaths and Burials, 1795-1952 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index. The entries are primarily from the IGI along with some entries derived from compiled and original records such as Family Records, Church Records, and Civil Registration. There may be entries that cite a specific source.
- 1801–1890 Barber Collection- Newspaper Deaths at Ancestry– ($); Index. Information extracted from the "Brooklyn Eagle" and the "New York Evening Post."
- 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 See Mortality Schedule information in the Federal Census section of Census for death information.
- 1856–1863 Index to Marriages and Deaths in the New York Herald at Ancestry– ($); Index. These newspaper notices refer to people up and down the East Coast as well as midwesterners and persons from as far west as the State of California. Also browseable.
- See Town Clerks' Registers of Men Who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for death information.
- 1864-5, 1874-5 See Mortality Schedule information in the State Census section of Census for death information for 1864-5, and 1874-5.
- 1906-1930 Almshouse Reports of Death at Warren County Records Center - free.
- 1911-1933 Almshouse Burial Permits at Warren County Records Center - free.
Additional Resources
Additional resources for Warren County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the New York, Warren– Vital Records topic page of the Family History Library Catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Voting Registers
Warren County New York Genealogy Websites
Warren County New York Places
| ||||||||||||
Warren County New York Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 492. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook, 478.
- ↑ Arlene Eakle, and Johni Cerni, The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1984), 103. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27ts.
- ↑ Frederick Phisterer, New York in the War of the Rebellion, 3rd ed. (Albany, N.Y.: J. B. Lyon Company, 1912). Internet Archive digital copy; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Film 1486494-96; Fiche 6083559-64; Book 974.7 M2p.
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 479. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
- ↑ Henry B. Hoff, "Navigating New York Probate," American Ancestors 12 (Fall 2011): 57.
- ↑ About Abstracts of Wills, Admins. and Guardianships in NY State, 1787-1835 at New York Ancestors, accessed 8 December 2011, http://newyorkancestors.org/.
- ↑ Central New York Genealogical Society at http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~nycnygs/index.htm (accessed 1 November 2011).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 March 2013, at 23:38.
- This page has been accessed 3,616 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



