Warrick County, IndianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Indiana
Warrick County
Guide to Warrick County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Warrick County, Indiana | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location of Indiana in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | March 9, 1813 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Boonville | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Warrick County Courthouse 107 W Locust Street Boonville, IN 47601 Phone: 812.897.6160 County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Historical Facts
Parent County
1813--Warrick County was created 9 March 1813 from Knox County. County seat: Boonville [1]
Boundary Changes
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Record Loss
Warrick County, Indiana Resources
Bible Records
Biographies
Business Records
Cemeteries
- Bates Hill Cemetery, Newburgh BillionGraves
- Massey Cemetery, Boonville BillionGraves
- Morrison Cemetery, Lynnville BillionGraves
Census Records
For tips on accessing Warrick County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Warrick County (1880) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Selected Residents of Warrick County (1881) ($, Indiana Genalogical Society)
Church Records
Court Records
Directories
Gazetteers
Genealogies
History
Local Histories
- History of Warrick, Spencer and Perry Counties, Indiana, from the earliest time to the present; together with interesting biographical sketches, reminiscences, notes, etc. (1973. Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic.) FHL US/CAN Film 934922 Item 4 FHL Collectionother librariesINTERNET ARCHIVE
Land and Property
Maps
- Family Maps of Warrick County, Indiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Migration
Military Records
War of 1812
- African American Veterans in Warrick County, Indiana (1890) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Civil War
Civil War service men from Warrick County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Warrick County.
- 1st Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company G
- 4th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company I
- 10th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies F, and M
- 25th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies H, and I
- 42nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 53rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
- 65th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies E, and H
- 91st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B and F
- 120th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies D, and E
- 136th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company F
- 143rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies D, and F
- 146th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
1890 Census Veterans Schedules
The 1890 Census Veterans Schedules for Warrick County are available on roll 118 of "Special Schedules of the Eleventh Census (1890) Enumerating Union Veterans and Widows of Union Veterans of the Civil War" (NARA M123). The schedules list veterans and their widows who served as Union soldiers in the Civil War. For more information on the 1890 Veterans Schedules see Union Census Records.
Civil War Books
- Haas, Garland A. 1997. To the mountain of fire and beyond: the Fifty-Third Indiana Regiment from Corinth to glory. (Carmel, Ind: Guild Press of Indiana.) 977.23 M2h FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collectionother libraries
- "Military History" Chapter 7 in History of Warrick, Spencer and Perry Counties, Indiana, from the earliest time to the present; together with interesting biographical sketches, reminiscences, notes, etc. (1973. Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic.), (page 92-112)FHL US/CAN Film 934922 Item 4 FHL Collection other librariesINTERNET ARCHIVE
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
Occupation
Periodicals
Probate Records
Public Records
Repositories
Archives
County Courthouse
Warrick County Courthouse
107 W Locust Street
Boonville, IN 47601
Phone: 812.897.6160
County Health Department has birth, death and burial records.
County Clerk has marriage records from 1819,
divorce, court and probate records from 1813.
County Records has land records. [2]
Family History Centers =
Libraries
Museums
Societies
School Records
- Directory of Teachers for Warrick County (1936) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Taxation
Vital Records
- Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
- Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892 - Ancestry.con $
- Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 - FamilySearch
- Indiana Marriage, 1811-1959 - FamilySearch
Death Records
- Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 - FamilySearch
Warrick County, Indiana Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Warrick County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Voter Registration
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Warrick County, Indiana 217 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
| This Indiana-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 22:59.
- This page has been accessed 2,222 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
