Warrington Holy Trinity, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Warrington Holy Trinity, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Warrington Holy Trinity, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Warrington PLU
Registration District Warrington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1816
Bishop's Transcripts: 1750
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Winwick
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Trinity Chapel was built as a chapel of ease for Warrington Parish in the year 1761.

WARRINGTON (St.Helen), a borough, market town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of West Derby, S.division of the county of Lancaster; the parish containing, with the chapelry of Burtonwood, and the townships of Poulton with Fearnhead, Rixton with Glazebrook, and Woolston with Martinscroft, 18 miles (E.) from Liverpool, 19½ (W. S. W.) from Manchester, 52(S. by E.) from Lancaster, and 188 (N. W. by N.) from London. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Warrington Holy Trinity chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Warrington St Elphin to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


WARRINGTON HOLY TRINITY Chapelry  (1816) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1850-1854, 1870-1887
None None
LOPC 1816-1914 1870-1927 None
CBMD None 1870-1933 None
WARRINGTON ST ELPHIN PARISH (1591) Indexes (ancient parish containing WARRINGTON HOLY TRINITY Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1591-1907 1614-1877 1727-1990
LOPC 1680-1701, 1733-1847 1591-1837 1699-1854
CBMD 1837-1912 1837-1933 1837-1910
FMP None 1746 None
AC 1591-1706 1591-1706 1591-1706
FREG 1780-1781 None 1780-1787


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington Holy Trinity and comprising the whole ancient parish of Warrington St Elphin to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WARRINGTON ST ELPHIN PARISH page.


Church of England

Warrington Holy Trinity Chapel registers are available online (free) for the years 1816-1927.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306907.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 470-475. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.

Web sites 



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,681 times.