Warrington St Elphin, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Warrington St Elphin, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See A Comprehensive List of Warrington Chapelries

Warrington St Elphin, Lancashire
Warrington St Elphin Church Lancashire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Warrington PLU
Registration District Warrington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1591
Bishop's Transcripts: 1596
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Winwick
Diocese Chester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WARRINGTON (St. Helen), a borough, markettown, and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of West Derby, S. division of the county of Lancaster; the parish containing, with the chapelry of Burtonwood, and the townships of Poulton with Fearnhead, Rixton with Glazebrook, and Woolston with Martinscroft. The ancient church, dedicated to St. Elfin, was of Saxon origin, and existed at the time of the Conquest: of this there are no remains. The site is occupied by the present church, dedicated to St. Helen, a spacious cruciform structure, of various styles, with a central tower, which, with the piers and arches supporting it, and the chancel, are the oldest parts, and a fine specimen of the decorated English style. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion, Independents, Wesleyans, Independent Methodists, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics. Other places in the parish include: Bank Quay, Woolstone with Martinscroft, Glazebrook, Howley, Little Sankey, Martinscroft, Orford, Poulton and Fearnhead, Poulton with Fearnhead, Rixton, Rixton and Glazebrook, Rixton with Glazebrook, Woolston, Woolston and Martinscroft, Woolston with Martinscroft, and Fearnhead.[1]

Resources

Warrington Borough Council 

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Warrington St. Elphin parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
CBMD = CheshireBMD.org.uk
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
WARRINGTON ST ELPHIN PARISH (1591) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1591-1907 1614-1877 1727-1990
LOPC 1680-1701, 1733-1847 1591-1837 1699-1854
CBMD 1837-1912 1837-1933 1837-1910
FMP None 1746 None
AC 1591-1706 1591-1706 1591-1706
FREG 1780-1781 None 1780-1787
WARRINGTON HOLY TRINITY Chapelry  (1816) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1850-1854, 1870-1887
None None
LOPC 1816-1914 1870-1927 None
CBMD None 1870-1933 None
WARRINGTON ST PAUL Chapelry  (1831) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1831-1856 1837 1831-1856
CBMD None 1837-1933 None
BURTONWOOD ST MICHAEL AND ALL ANGELS Chapelry  (1629) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1668-1918 1722-1936 1629-1931
LOPC 1668-1837, 1841-1876 1683-1750 1784-1837, 1841-1876
CBMD None 1879-1933 None
AC 1668-1837 1668-1837 1668-1837
FREG 1668-1922 None 1783-1931
HOLLINFARE ST HELEN Chapelry  (1654) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1654-1909 1705-1934 1709-1943
LOPC 1754-1757, 1813-1838 None 1753-1756, 1813-1838
CBMD None 1875-1933 None
AC 1654-1837 1705-1744 1709-1837
FREG 1654-1812 None None
PADGATE CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry  (1839) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1861-1910 1841-1935 None
LOPC None None 1839-1923
CBMD None 1841-1933 None


Baptisms Transcript-1591-1706- 929.3272 W31
Baptisms Transcript-1707-1822- Archives LPRS Transcript
Burials Transcript-1591-1706- 929.3272 W31
Burials Transcript-1707-1812- Archives LPRS Transcript
Burials Transcript-1826-1826- Archives LPRS Transcript
Marriages Transcript-1591-1706- 929.3272 W31
Marriages Transcript-1707-1824- Archives LPRS Transcript

Original Records

The Lancashire Record Office at Bow Lane, Preston PR2 1RE, holds the original parish registers in its vast collections. Contact their website for contact information.

The Family History Library has microfilmed the parish registers and Bishop's transcripts of Warrington St. Elphin parish for the years 1591-1907 (burials through 1990). These films are available for ordering/circulating and researching at any one of its satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide.


For original registers of above please enquire at Cheshire Record Office.

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306907.

Genealogy

Higman, Julian.  Touchet of Warrington, Manchester and London.  History and family tree of Richard and ? Touchet with the following surnames.  Gandy, Dainteth, Bayley, Hollows, Grier, Adian, Graves, Rasbothom, Wilkinson, Rigby, Harison, Ford, James, Colguitte, Bayly, Elgie, Gardiner, Harrrington, Ridley, dating from 1669-1881. Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. magazine. vol.9. no.1. pages 20-32. FHL 942.72 B2r


Poor Law Unions

Warrington Poor Law Union, Lancashire This page also includes details of Warrington Rate Books and Valuation Lists 1846-1885 for Warrrington


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 470-475. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 July 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:33.
  • This page has been accessed 5,751 times.