Warsop with Sookholme, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Warsop with Sookholme, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Warsop with Sookholme, Nottinghamshire|
|Poor Law Union||Mansfield PLU|
|Parish registers: 1638|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1627|
|Probate Court||Court of the Manor of Mansfield|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
WARSOP (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Mansfield, Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 5¼ miles (N. N. E.) from Mansfield; containing with the chapelry of Sokeholme. In Sokeholme is a chapel of ease. 
Warsop with Sookholme is an Ancient Parish in the county of Nottinghamshire. Other places in the parish include: Gleadthorpe Grange, Nettleworth, Warsop with Gleadthorpe Grange and Nettleworth, Sookholme, and Sokeholme.
Warsop may refer to two Ancient Parishes:
The parish church of St Augustine has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Church history Warsop St Peter and Paul
The parish church of St Peter and St Paul has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This area was in the Mansfield registration district from 1837; for registration district history Mansfield registration district
Certificates may be obtained from:
The Register Office
100 Chesterfield Road South
Phone 01623 476564
Fax 01623 636284
Warsop with Sookholme, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Warsop with Sookholme, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Warsop St Peter and St Paul Baptisms 1539-1953Marriages 1538-1953 Burials 1537-1954 Bishop's Transcripts 1627-1858
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Warsop with Sookholme
Transciption of Warsop Vale War Memorial 1914-1918 also the War Memorial in the Church for W.W.1 and 2,
giving surname, and initials of given name, in the Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine,vol. 89, pages 42-43, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n
Warsop. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1661, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. The original is held at Nottinhamshire Archives Ref DD/TS and article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine vol. 64, pages 31-33 , Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438902.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Warsop in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Warsop/index.html
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 20 March 2015, at 19:32.
- This page has been accessed 1,621 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More