Warton (near Kirkham), LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Warton (near Kirkham), Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Warton St Paul Fylde.jpg

Contents

Chapelry History

WARTON, an ecclesiastical parish, in the parish of Kirkham, union of the Fylde, hundred of Amounderness, N. division of Lancashire; comprising the townships of Warton, Freckleton, and Bryning with Kellamergh, 3 miles (S. S. W.) from Kirkham. [1]

The village is about six miles from Preston and eight miles from Blackpool. It is located on the banks of the River Ribble, close to its entry into the Irish Sea. It is best known for its airfield, BAE Warton and its associated aircraft works of BAE Systems Military Air Solutions. The village is part of the borough of Fylde.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Warton chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Kirkham to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


WARTON Chapelry (1848) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None  1848-1858, 1865, 1868
LOPC None None None
FMP  None None None
KIRKHAM ST MICHAEL'S PARISH (1539) Indexes (ancient parish containing WARTON Chapelry)

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1540-1653; 1868-1896 1539-1653;1868-1874  None
LOPC 1678-1932 1539-1653;1678-1875 1678-1775; 1834-1932
FMP  None 1539-1837 None
LBMD 1837-1974 1837-2010 1837-1975
AC 1539-1653 1539-1653 1539-1653


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warton and comprising the whole ancient parish of Kirkham to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the KIRKHAM ST MICHAEL PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306886.


Poor Law Unions

Fylde Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 475-482. Date accessed: 08 October 2013.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,247 times.