Warton (near Lancaster), LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Warton (near Lancaster), Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See A List of Chapelries in Warton Parish.

Warton (near Lancaster), Lancashire
St Oswald's Church, Warton Lancashire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Lancaster PLU
Registration District Lancaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1637
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tunstall
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Kendal
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WARTON (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, union, and N. division of the county, of Lancaster. The parish is bouuded on the west by Morecambe bay. It includes the chapelry of Silverdale, and the townships of Borwick, Carnworth, Priest-Hutton, Yealand-Conyers, and Yealand Redmayne. St Oswald's Church (formerly Holy Trinity) is situated on the declining ground at the foot of Warton Crag, is a good ordinary building of the 16th century, and consists of a nave, aisles, chancel, and a noble tower: the interior is very light, and large; and contains some ancient monuments. It should not be confused with Warton (near Kirkham), Lancashire in the same county.[1]

The oldest surviving architecture other than the church is the ruined rectory, built around 1267; records exist of work being carried out on the rectory until 1332. The ruins are in good condition with the gables surviving to almost their original height (around 30 ft).

Warton is the birthplace of the medieval ancestors of George Washington, the first popularly elected President of the United States. Lawrence Washington, seven generations prior to George Washington and his family, arrived in Warton around 1300, and Robert Washington, Lawrence's great-grandson, is rumored to have help build the clock tower of St Oswald's Church. The Washington family coat of arms, three mullets and two bars, can be found in the church and is said to have inspired the design of the flag of the United States. The flag of the United States of America is displayed on the village church flag pole every July Fourth. The flag was donated to the village after US soldiers had visited the village during WWII and having returned back to the USA contacted their state senator about the birthplace of the Washington family. The donated flag was one of which had flown above the Capitol Building in Washington DC.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Online Records

Warton St. Oswald parish registers and those registers of both of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries--including Yealand Conyers St Mary and to a much lesser extent--Silverdale Chapelry have been  transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
WARTON ST OSWALD PARISH (1568) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1568-1903 1570-1838 None
LOPC 1568-1924 1569-1647, 1653-1903 1568-1920
LBMD 1837-1919 1837-1988 1837-1919
JOIN 1813-1837
FMP None 1571-1837 None
AC 1568-1812 1568-1812 1568-1812
FREG 1871-1903 1824-1845 1813-1900, 1914-1920
SILVERDALE ST JOHN Chapelry  (1871) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1855-1897
None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1871-1989 None
YEALAND-CONYERS ST JOHN Chapelry  (1858) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1858-1909 1740-1760, 1793-1835 (partial) 1745,1755, 1764-1804, 1809-1815
LOPC 1858-1922 1867-1920 None
LBMD None 1867-2001 None


Original Records

The Lancashire Record Office at Bow Lane, Preston PR2 1RE, holds the original parish registers in its vast collections. Contact their website for contact information.

The Family History Library has microfilmed the parish registers and Bishop's transcripts of Warton (near Lancaster) parish for the years 1568-1903. These films are available for ordering/circulating and researching at any one of its satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306916.


Poor Law Unions

Lancaster Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

  • 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Warton. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692. Includes Borwick and Priest Hutton.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 475-482. Date accessed: 08 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:33.
  • This page has been accessed 3,318 times.