Wasco County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Wasco County

Guide to Wasco County Oregon genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Wasco County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Wasco County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 11, 1854
County Seat The Dalles
Courthouse
Address Wasco County Courthouse
511 Washigton Street
The Dalles, Or 97058
Phone: 541-296-6159
Wasco County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1854.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, probate and court records,
from 1854. [1]


Wasco County Government

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Wasco County Court House as of August 2011.

Wasco County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at;

Oregon, Wasco County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records )

Wasco County Information

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Wasco County, Oregon

Boundary Changes

11 January 1854: Wasco county was created from Clackamas, Douglas, Jackson, Lane, Linn, and Marion Counties . Named for the Wasco (or Wascopam), a Chinook tribe on the south side. (Ore. Terr. Special Laws 1853, 5th reg. sess., pp. 26-27), [2]
14 January 1857: Gained very small area near the head of Eagle Creek and Bradford's Island from Multnomah [change too small to map]. (Ore. Terr. Laws 1856-1857, 8th reg. sess., pp. 78-79)
14 February 1859: Lost to Washington Territory when the United States created the state of Oregon from Oregon Territory. (U.S. Stat., vol. 11, ch. 33[1859], secs. 1-2/pp. 383-384 Ore. Laws 1860, 1st reg. sess., pp. 28-30)
22 September 1862:
Lost to creation of Baker. (Ore. Laws 1862, 2nd reg. sess., p. 112)
27 September 1862: Lost to creation of Umatilla. (Ore. Laws 1862, 2nd reg. sess., p. 91)
14 October 1864:
Lost to creation of Grant. (Ore. Laws 1864, 3rd reg. sess., p. 43)
24 October 1874: Lost to creation of Lake. (Ore. Laws 1874, 8th reg. sess., pp. 38-41)
24 October 1882: Lost to creation of Crook. (Ore. Special Laws 1882, 12th reg. sess., p. 178)
16 February 1885:
Lost to creation of Morrow. (Ore. Special Laws 1885, 13th reg. sess., pp. 239-243)
25 February 1885: Lost to creation of Gilliam. Creation left a small strip of Wasco County along the southeastern line of Gilliam which remained until gained by Gilliam County on 20 February 1891. (Ore. Special Laws 1885, 13th reg. sess., p. 404)
25 February 1889: Lost to creation of Sherman. (Ore. Laws 1889, gen., 15th reg. sess., p. 82)
19 February 1891:
Lost more land to Sherman. (Ore. Laws 1891, gen., 16th reg. sess., pp. 68-69)
20 February 1891: Lost to Gilliam. The gain was a small strip that was inadvertently separated from Wasco County when Gilliam County was created on 25 February 1885. (Ore. Laws 1891, gen., 16th reg. sess., p. 76)
25 February 1895:
Boundary with Multnomah adjusted within Section 22 of Township 2 North, Range 7 East [change too small to map]. (Ore. Laws 1895, 18th reg. sess., p. 88)
23 June 1908:
Lost to creation of Hood River. (Ore. Laws 1909, gen., 25th reg. sess., ch. 5/pp. 39-43)
25 February 1925: Boundaries redefined [no change]. (Ore. Laws 1925, gen., 33rd reg. sess., ch. 108/p. 164)
13 September 1967:
Redefined to substitute "boundary of the state" for middle of the main channel of the Columbia River. Approved by the Governor 19 June 1967, became effective 13 Sep 1967 [no change]. (Ore. Laws 1967, 54th reg. sess., ch. 421/pp. 930-931)

  • Record Loss:

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Antelope | Dufur | Maupin | Mosier | Shaniko | The Dalles

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Boyd | Chenoweth | Friend | Pine Hollow | Pine Grove | Rice | Rowena | Tygh Valley | Wamic

Neighboring Counties

Clackamas | Gilliam | Hood River | Jefferson | Marion | Sherman | Wheeler | Klickitat, Washington

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

  • 1860
  • 1870
  • 1880
  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Wiki article describing online FamilySearch Historical collecton is found Oregon, Wasco County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps

Orwasco.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Wasco County, Oregon for European and African American settlers included:

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

Many early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.

Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Oregon, Waco County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Wasco County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wasco County, Oregon page 574, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
  3. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map VI" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap6.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:28.
  • This page has been accessed 4,833 times.