Washington CensusEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
U.S. Census
Washington
Census
|
|
Online Washington indexes and images
| Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Washington | |||||||||||
| Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* | Pay | |||||||||
| Family Search[1] |
Internet Archive[2] | Misc. | Heritage Quest[3] | Fold3[4] | Ancestry FHL[5] | Ancestry Library[5] | Ancestry Home[5] | Archives[6] | Family Link[7] | ||
| 1940 | indexes | Link | - | Link Link |
- | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | - | Link Link Link |
- | - | Link | Link | Link | - |
Link | |
| 1930 | indexes | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1920 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1910 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1900 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1889 Territorial | indexes | - | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | - | - |
| images | - | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | - | - | |
| 1887 Territorial | indexes | - | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | - | - |
| images | - | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | - | - | |
| 1885 Territorial | indexes | - | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | - | - |
| images | - | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | - | - | |
| 1883 Territorial | indexes | - | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | - | - |
| images | - | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | - | - | |
| 1880 | indexes | Link | Soundex | Link | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | - | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1871 Territorial | indexes | - | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | - | - |
| images | - | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | - | - | |
| 1870 | indexes | Link | - | Link | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1860[8] | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link |
| images | - |
Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1850[9] | indexes | Link | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | OR Terr Link |
OR Terr Link |
- | OR Terr Link |
- | OR Terr Link |
OR Terr Link |
OR Terr Link |
- | Link | |
| Family Search | Internet Archive | Misc. | Heritage Quest | Fold3 | Ancestry FHL | Ancestry Library | Ancestry Home | Archives | Family Link | ||
| Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) | Pay | |||||||||
Federal population schedules
Microfilm images
| 1940 N/A | 1910 | 1870 | ||
| 1930 | 1900 and Soundex | 1860 | ||
| 1920 and Soundex | 1880 and Soundex | |||
| 1940 N/A | 1910 T624 | 1870 M593 | ||
| 1930 T626 | 1900 T623 and Soundex T1077 | 1860 M653 | ||
| 1920 T625 and Soundex M1593 | 1880 T9 and Soundex T777 | |||
Indexes: fiche, film, or book
For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Washington, click here
Federal non-population schedules
Online indexes and images
| Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Washington | ||||||||||
| |
Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) | Pay | |||||||
| Year | Type | Record Search | Heritage Quest | Ancestry FHL | Ancestry Library | Ancestry Home | ||||
| 1890 | Veterans | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||||
| 1880 | Defective | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||||
| 1880 | Mortality | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||||
| 1870 | Mortality | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||||
| 1860 | Mortality | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||||
| 1850 | Mortality (as part of Oregon Territory) | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||||
Microfilm images
The mortality schedules for 1860 to 1880 are also available at the DAR Library in Washington D.C. and at the Washington State Library.
Indexes: fiche, film, or book
For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Washington, click here.
State and territorial censuses
Washington took censuses in the years between the federal censuses, the dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.
| Washington state, territorial, and colonial censuses[10][11] | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| No statewide state census was taken, but many county censuses were taken at different years from 1856 to 1898. | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1898 | County of Garfield | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1892 | Counties of Douglas, Garfield, King, Klickitat, Mason, Pierce, Stevens, Thurston, and Walla Walla | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1891 | County of Jefferson | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1889 | Counties of Adams, Asotin, Clallam, Columbia, Garfield, Island, Jefferson, King, Kitsap, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lincoln, Mason, Pierce, San Juan, Snohomish, Thurston, Whatcom, and Whitman | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1887 | Counties of Adams, Asotin, Clallam, Clark, Columbia, Cowlitz, Douglas, Franklin, Garfield, Island, Jefferson, King, Kitsap, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lewis, Lincoln, Mason, Pacific, Pierce, San Juan, Skagit, Skamania, Snohomish, Spokane, Stevens, Thurston, Wahkiakum, Walla Walla, Whatcom, Whitman, and Yakima | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1885 | Counties of Adams, Asotin, Chehalis, Clallam, Clark, Columbia, Cowlitz, Douglas, Franklin, Garfield, Island, Jefferson, King, Kitsap, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lewis, Lincoln, Mason, Pacific, Pierce, San Juan, Skagit, Skamania, Snohomish, Spokane, Stevens, Thurston, Wahkiakum, Walla Walla, Whatcom, Whitman, and Yakima | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1883 | Counties of Clallam, Clark, Columbia, Cowlitz, Garfield, Island, Jefferson, King, Kitsap, Klickitat, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Pierce, Snohomish, Thurston, Whitman, and Yakima | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1881 | Counties of Jefferson, King, and Thurston | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1880 | Counties of Jefferson, King, and Thurston | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1879 | Counties of Jefferson, King, Mason, Pierce, and Thurston | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1878 | Counties of Jefferson, Mason, Pierce, Stevens, and Thurston | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1877 | Counties of Jefferson and Thurston | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1875 | County of Thurston | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1874 | County of Jefferson | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1873 | County of Thurston | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1871 | Counties of Chehalis, Clallam, Clark, Cowlitz, Island, Jefferson, King, Kitsap, Klickitat, Lewis, Mason, Pierce, Skamania, Stevens, Thurston, Whatcom, and Yakima | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1860 | Counties of Chehalis, Clallam, Clark, Island, Jefferson, Kitsap, Lewis, Skamania, and Whatcom | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1858 | County of Chehalis | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1857 | Counties of Clallam, Clark, Island, Kitsap, Lewis, Mason, Pierce, and Wahkiakum | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1856 | County of King | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
These partial censuses are available at the Washington State Library, the Family History Library (beginning with Family History Library film 1841781) and ancestry.com The years included:
1854, 1856, 1857, 1860, 1861, 1871, 1873, 1875, 1877-1879, 1880, 1881, 1883, 1885, 1887, 1890-1892, 1898, 1907.
Existing and lost censuses
For a list of available and missing Washington censuses, click here.
Why use a census?
A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.
More about censuses
Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:
Sources and footnotes
- ↑ FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
- ↑ Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
- ↑ HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
- ↑ Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
- ↑ Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
- ↑ FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
- ↑ The 1860 federal census of Washington Territory included the populated areas of present-day Washington. Also, the northern portion of present-day Idaho and parts of present-day northwestern Montana were included with Spokane County.
- ↑ The 1850 Federal census of Oregon Territory included the populated areas of present-day western Washington.
- ↑ Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992)[[FHL book 973 X2Lai]], 109-12.
- ↑ Henry J. Dubester, State Censuses: An Annotated Bibliography of Censuses of Population Taken After the Year 1790 by States and Territories of the United States (Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1948)[FHL Book 973 X23s; Fiche 6018062], 62.
| ||||
| ||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 7 May 2012, at 23:47.
- This page has been accessed 4,540 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More